We know that sometimes the same customer will appear multiple times in the Customers tab, either because they used a slightly different name, or different contact information when creating some of their appointments.

Not to worry, though, because Genbook’s Customer Merge feature lets you quickly and easily combine multiple entries for the same customer. In no time, you’ll have a single entry containing that customer’s full appointment history and contact info! Here’s how it’s done.

In your Customers tab, find one of the duplicate entries and click on the customer’s name. On the Summary page, click the “Merge” button on the right.

Merge button on the customer summary

 

On the next screen, you’ll see the name of the customer you selected at the top of the page, and then a list of suggested entries you might merge with that first one (based on customer name and/or contact info). Click “Add” beside any listing that needs to be merged with that top entry. If you don’t see the customer you’re looking for, you can use the Search bar to locate them.

Customer records to merge

 

Once you’ve added all the customer entries you are combining to the top of the screen, you can choose which of them you want to “Keep” and which you want to “Merge” into that primary record you are keeping. The contact information on each entry will be added to that main record, and you can edit or remove that at any time. Click on the toggle “Keep”/”Merge” button to select which of the entries will be the primary one. Note that you can only “Keep” one of the entries, so any others in the list will automatically be set to “Merge”.

Toggle between the Merge and Keep options

Click the “Ok” at the bottom of the page when you’ve finished the merge. Confirm the merge by clicking “Yes” in the dialog box that appears.

Check your Customers tab for the results of your merge. All of that merged customer’s appointments should be under that one entry, as should their contact info. You can always edit the details (e.g. remove a phone number if it’s no longer valid; create a different email address the primary one on file).

Merged Customers contain all appointments and contact info from each record.

 

Customer Merge…just one more way Genbook gets you more time!

Enjoy Genbook’s 30-day free trial today, and discover why we’re trusted by over 20,000 professionals.

Related posts

Connect your Genbook appointment booking to Reserv... Genbook has partnered with Google to bring small businesses and their customers a smoother and simpler search-to-booking experience. This new featu...
New ways to access Help & Support Genbookers will now have immediate access to the new centralized help and support center easily accessible across Genbook. The help and support center...
The Community – Powered by Genbook Introducing the Community - Powered by Genbook   The Community powered by Genbook has just launched and we're kicking it off with a special h...
Feature: Staff Preference Indicator If you've set the Staff Selection feature to allow clients to choose "no preference" when booking appointments, you're going to love the Staff Prefere...
Share:Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedIn