A “Block” is simply an empty (place-holder) appointment in your calendar. It is the quickest and easiest way to make yourself unavailable for appointments for either a single time slot, or multiple time slots.

To create a Block, hover over the time slot in your Calendar and click the word “Block”.

block-01

The time slot immediately becomes “Blocked”.

A Blocked time slot in the Calendar

It’s possible to make a Blocked time span more than just one 30 minute time slot. Because a Block is basically an empty appointment, editing a Block is just like editing an appointment.

Click on the Blocked time and you’ll see the Edit Appointment form. From there, you can edit the length of the block, or even move it to a different time/date, if you need to.

It’s even possible to write a Memo on a Block. This way, you can easily see, in your Calendar, why you’ve created the Block.

Adding a Memo to a Blocked time

If block a time slot by accident, or simply wish to remove a Block for other reasons, that’s easy, too. Click on the Block (as we did to edit it). Then, click “Cancel Appointment”, as you would when cancelling an appointment.
Deleting a Block is the same as canceling an appointment
Finally, here are a few things to keep in mind about Blocks.

  1. Blocks should be used for one-time or random unavailability. To set recurring unavailability (e.g. Make every Monday at 9am unavailable), use Staff Hours.
  2. You cannot place appointments over Blocks, the way you can over Offline, Away and even Closed times. This is because a Block is technically already an appointment (just a blank/empty one).
  3. If you need to convert a Block into an appointment, you should first delete the Block (as described above), then add a new appointment in its place. Changing an Block into an appointment by selecting a service and filling in customer details will cause problems in your Genbook account.
  4. If you are attempting to delete a staff member, you will first need to delete all future Blocks from his/her Calendar.

Sign up to Genbook’s 30-day free trial today!

Related posts

Connect your Genbook appointment booking to Reserv... Genbook has partnered with Google to bring small businesses and their customers a smoother and simpler search-to-booking experience. This new featu...
New ways to access Help & Support Genbookers will now have immediate access to the new centralized help and support center easily accessible across Genbook. The help and support center...
The Community – Powered by Genbook Introducing the Community - Powered by Genbook   The Community powered by Genbook has just launched and we're kicking it off with a special h...
Feature: Staff Preference Indicator If you've set the Staff Selection feature to allow clients to choose "no preference" when booking appointments, you're going to love the Staff Prefere...
Share:Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedIn