Genbook verified user seal

These reviews are from verified customers of this business.

VERIFIED CUSTOMER REVIEWS
  • 5

    So consistently good!!!

    Marcus and I have been together for over 10 years, and there is NO ONE ELSE I would trust with my hair. The color, all organic, is so amazing, no one really knows my hair is colored - including my kids! And the cut is always flattering and lasts. Would give more stars if possible.

    Customer since November 2011

  • 5

    Great experience- highly recommend!

    I highly recommend Marcus to be your next hair stylist! Marcus has years of hair coloring and styling experience. He is also incredibly knowledgeable about hair products and only uses organic products that suit your hair type. I came to Marcus with bleached highlighted hair that left my hair completely damaged. Marcus used an amazing deep conditioner treatment and brought my hair back to its original brunette roots with organic hair dye. My hair now looks and feels amazing!

    Customer since March 2016

  • 5

    Excellent

    I love visiting Marcus to get my hair done! He is so personable and does an absolutely terrific job. The hair color products he uses are unlike any other products I've used before. My hair is silky, shiny, and does not have split ends. It's actually amazing.

    Customer since September 2015

  • 5

    Top Stylist

    Marcus is thoughtful, knowledgeable and passionate about his work. He will give you 100% of his attention. After my visit, I felt like a movie star!

    Customer since April 2016

  • 5

    Glad to have met Marcus!

    I'm so glad to have met Marcus! Because of his research, finally I use hair products that don't give me a headache and are good for our environment. More hair stylists should be like Marcus and be concerned about whether their products are healthy or cause disease.

    Customer since July 2015

  • 5

    hair god!

    i just love the way marcus does my hair! He matches the hair color tgat I want perfectly and is so gentle (no hair pulls while doing my hair!) Awsome service the money is worth it! I'd say he is the best organic hair stylist in Boston! You will always leave the salon satisfied, trust me!

    Customer since November 2015

  • 5

    Review

    Marcus always does an excellent job on my hair I am never disappointed!! He focuses on his client's needs and decides what is best. He has a great sensibility to color and what looks good or bad on you Highly recommend him!!!!

    Customer since September 2012

  • 5

    Marcus gets me

    Marcus is simply amazing, he knows exactly what I need before I say anything. His products and technique have taken my hair to a whole new level. The organic line is incredible and makes me feel secure about what is going on my hair. People ask me if it is more expensive? Heck yes! It is but I'd rather sacrifice a few shopping trips or dinners out for the health of my scalp and hair.

    Customer since August 2015

  • 5

    Oway Hair Color with Marcus

    I tried Oway for the first time yesterday with Marcus and it is great - made my hair super soft and I'm very happy with it! He did a great job.

    Customer since December 2015

  • 5

    Adriana

    I cannot say enough words to express the exemplary service and expertise that Marcus exhibited. I went in with gray hair that hadn't been colored in quite awhile. He was patient, knowledgeable and spot on with the color! I am a brunette and it is not easy to get the right shade not too dark and not too light....he got it done perfectly. The organic hair color products he used were superb! I highly recommend!!! I left feeling beautiful!

    Customer since November 2015

  • 5

    It doesn't get better

    I have lived in MA since 1984, in the suburbs and now in Boston. That's a lot of haircuts and colorings. In all those years no one has ever come close to Marcus for customer care. His organic products line is about nothing less than what is best for the client. Loving my haircut and color is not new to me. What is new is that I am not killing myself slowly in order to have satisfaction. My hair has NEVER looked healthier and the cut is downright thoughtful. Marcus is both an artist and a friend.

    Customer since June 2014

  • 5

    Great job!!

    Marcus did a great color My hair feels fantastic He used a new organic color and I love it But he also is still the best in deciding ones color and cut Highly recommend him He is the best!!

    Customer since September 2012

  • 5

    New color!

    Marcus is always looking for new and better products, and this latest organic color system is excellent! I think it's the best yet!

    Customer since April 2013

  • 5

    Great color and cut

    As usual, Marcus' color was spot on, and his cut, leaving my hair a little longer, but layering it and lightening it up to give it some movement, is great. Always a pleasure!

    Customer since April 2013

  • 5

    Marcus

    Thanks Marcus, Great color and amazingly easy visit this week See you in October. Have a good weekend.

    Customer since June 2015

  • 5

    Excellent hair care

    Thanks Marcus! I love the color, and the new hair products are wonderful! Wishing you a great summer!

    Customer since May 2015

  • 5

    Princess Di

    Always feel like a princess when I leave. Wonderful color w organic products first time my hair really grows and is healthy between visits!

    Customer since March 2013

  • 5

    Marcus is the best! Professional, caring, witty and an artist.

    Marcus listens, understands, cares, knows his craft & his products, has the artistic eye & talent to transform you into the best version of yourself. My skin started to react to conventional hair color, I researched & was alarmed at how toxic they can be. Was about to resort to wearing a hat! Marcus went the extra mile, even came in on his day off! I arrived with dried out hair, lots of grey showing, left with glowing, natural colour, silky soft, no skin reaction & a great cut. Thank you!

    Customer since March 2015

  • 5

    Love my color and cut...Marcus is the best!

    I had a great first appointment with Marcus. My color was a little messy to say the least from years of what I now know where not the best treatments or techniques. Marcus advised what he thought we needed to do to even out the color and ensure it was right for my complexion. I loved the organic products he used, which I didn't have any reaction to (I normally do with other products) and i'm supper happy with my cut, he gave it a good chop which was needed. I will definitely be going back!

    Customer since February 2015

  • 5

    Great Appointment!

    This was my first appointment with Marcus and he was as wonderful as all of the reviews have said. He is thorough and details each step of the process. My hair feels softer and healthier from all of the organic products he used to make it shine and cover all the gray! I will definitely be back in for my next color!

    Customer since March 2015

  • 5

    Marcus the Artiste!

    My first appt with Marcus was amazing. Not only did he use his fabulous organic products to get the precise, unique color I was hoping for without any discomfort, my hair felt healthier after the process. Bonus: hearing about his world travels!

    Customer since February 2015

  • 5

    Always fantastic!

    I've been going to Marcus for my hair cuts for 7 years now and he always does a great job! Go see him, he will make you smile. :-)

    Customer since July 2012

  • 5

    Fantastic Stylist!

    I have been going to Marcus for about 3 years now. He takes great care of his clients, he knows so much about organic hair care and in general about organic living. I love his cuts and am going back for color for the first time (yikes, 38!) and possible highlights. Love him!

    Customer since March 2015

  • 5

    Phenomenal colorist and stylist!

    I travel across the country to work with Marcus. Starting to plan my trips around his schedule! My hair has never, in many, many years, looked or felt better. I love the all organic products & his coloring & styling are phenomenal. He takes the time to show me how to work with my hair. There was a compliment from another client (not his) before I left the salon! And many more have followed. Marcus is so kind and thoughtful. You'll love working with him. It's safe to leave your hair in his care!

    Customer since January 2015

  • 5

    Great stylist and love his work

    As usual my color is awesome Never disappointed Such a good colorist and stylist!!!! Always get lots of complements

    Customer since September 2012

  • 5

    FanTabUlous

    Brilliant cut Marcus! After three horrific haircuts I was looking like I as dragged through a hedge backwards. Thank you for the beautiful shape and style you have given me. I am looking forward to seeing you in April for my next cut!.

    Customer since January 2015

  • 5

    What a GEM!!!:)

    SERIOUSLY!!! Marcus you are a Gem! Thank you for the perfect match in color and actually getting all my greys!! I have a healthy organic color that is shiny and odorless! Matches the rest of my head of hair and you were so positive about my condition both health an financial! You are my new and only colorist!!! THANK YOU!

    Customer since February 2015

  • 5

    Always Perfect

    I have never loved both my cut and color more. Marcus is attentive, he listens, and he knows how to give me the most flattering look possible.

    Customer since October 2014

  • 5

    Organic hair color

    Never dissapointed with marcus, he knows what suits me better than i know what suits me and always so pleasant!!

    Customer since September 2014

  • 5

    Marcus is a miracle worker

    I wish I discovered Marcus years ago, I have very fine, curly, dark hair with resistant greys. Traditional color processes left my tresses broken, frizzy and lifeless. Since Marcus started coloring my hair using his 100% organic line I have noticed new hair growth and the luster and movement that I used to have prior to coloring has returned. On one of my visits I asked Marcus if he could trim my hair he suggested putting in some long layers, loved & received many compliments on the cut!!

    Customer since October 2014

  • 5

    Marcus is AMAZING!

    First off, Marcus couldn't be more attentive, loving and considerate and then add to that an extensive knowledge of the organic hair dyes and colour (plus a great sense of humour!!) and you have yourself a five star experience. I'm thrilled with my results and didn't have to breathe in toxic chemicals for the two hours I spent at the salon!! It's great to know there are legitimate alternatives to bleach and formaldehyde--thank you so much, Marcus!

    Customer since January 2015

  • 5

    Great Color!

    Marcus is simply the best! He knows his craft and matched the blond color to my skin color perfectly. I love the fact that he uses organic products and I really noticed the difference on my scalp. Marcus gave me a great hair color experience and I will recommend him to everyone!

    Customer since December 2014

  • 5

    First-time experience was excellent

    I loved my experience with Marcus and the organic hair color experience. It truly was unique and so much better than the ordinary chemical hair color that we are accustomed to having processed in our hair. The end result was the same, and even better with my hair looking shiny - not dry!

    Customer since November 2014

  • 5

    Nothing short of perfect

    For a long time I had to go to one stylist for my cut, and one for my color because I couldn't find someone who was great at both. Marcus is great at both! woo hoo! The cut is exactly what I was going for, and the shade of blonde is what no other stylist has been able to achieve. AND he's fun!!! AND the color is organic!!! He's perfect, what more can I say?

    Customer since October 2014

  • 5

    Awesome colorist

    This review is over due.. I've been to Marcus three times in the last year, the last time on 11/9 I've gotten 3 cuts and colors and one organic keratin treatment. He is an awesome colorist and I am in love with my new copper colored hair! Everyone notices it :) My cuts have been super cute too! He uses the organic color systems color and keragreen keratin product, that's how I found him initially, I called organic color systems and asked for a stylist in my area who uses their color product

    Customer since October 2014

  • 5

    Best find of 2014!

    No exaggeration, Marcus is a discovery. ////i first went to him for the organic line he offers. I am so careful about what I put into my body and now that I am graying it was worrying me that what I put on my hair is ALSO going into my body. So that's a relief. But the bonus is Marcus himself. He listens, corrects, jokes, converses, shares and all within a professional manner. I see myself growing even OLDER with someone I consider a friend,

    Customer since June 2014

  • 5

    True professional & a fantastic find for me!

    I have lived in a few different countries and one of my biggest challenges is finding a hairdresser all over again. Finding Marcus was a blessing, not only does he use the same organic product I am use to, he is extremely experienced, patient and true professional. I am so so fussy with my hair but I felt I could instantly trust him and his recommendations. I am so happy with the results and to have found him!

    Customer since November 2014

  • 5

    great job

    I was looking for a change in hair style, and wanted something wildly different. (I do this periodically). After telling Marcus, he suggested one way, at my urging. After the color, I asked him to tell me truly if he thought I was going to do the right thing. He was honest, suggested another way (not quite so drastic!), and the results were wonderful as always. He has great judgement about what will look best, and, after getting to know you, understands your personality as well.

    Customer since April 2013

  • 5

    THE BEST!!!!

    Excellent!! He fixed my bad dye job using only organic/vegan/cruelty-free products, which is very important to me. Not only is he the only stylist in Boston offering this, he's also extremely passionate about his work, and so, so nice! I had a great time! Thank you, Marcus!!

    Customer since November 2014

  • 5

    Still the best

    Marcus is simply the best. I frequently get complements on the color of my hair. Marcus created the perfect blonde for me. It looks natural and better than what Mother Nature gave me.

    Customer since July 2013

  • 5

    Mr.

    Very skilled professional stylist. His use of only organic products is a huge plus. Highly recommend Marcus

    Customer since October 2014

  • 4

    Perfect Color

    Marcus paired me with the perfect hair color. Just beautiful! The added bonus...the color is organic and has no ammonia.

    Customer since September 2014

  • 5

    Great new cut today!

    I've been seeing Marcus for about 2.5 years. I originally found Marcus through a bloomspot and am so happy I met him. Our time together is always fun and the cuts are great!!!

    Customer since July 2014

  • 5

    Marcus rocks!

    I have never had a better hair stylist than Marcus. I have the most stubborn and crazy hair...it doesn't lighten well, it doesn't hold color that well, and it grows like a Chia pet...and yet I insist on changing my hair color every few months. But Marcus always has great suggestions on what to do that will compliment my face and my skin tone. I love him and always enjoy going back.

    Customer since September 2013

  • 5

    Simply Extraordinary!!!!

    I have been to several hairdressers in several cities - no one has equalled Marcus. Not only are his products organic, but his hair color is the best I have ever had. My only goal was to cover my white hair and return to my native color, which has been near impossible in the 15 years since I have started coloring my hair. Marcus accomplished my objective and exceeded my expectations on what my hair could look like. Marcus is a wonderful person and immensely talented professional.

    Customer since February 2014

  • 5

    Great experience, highly recommend

    Marcus is a high quality, friendly and professional stylist. He is one of the few stylists I've been to who will offer up suggestions for a new color or cut. I want someone who will listen to my wants and needs, but that I can also rely on for advice based on their knowledge and experience; Marcus definitely meets those expectations. The salon is beautiful and clean. I enjoyed chatting with him, and my haircut and color is beautiful. I'm now a committed client and would highly recommend him.

    Customer since August 2014

  • 5

    As always, perfect hair

    I can always trust Marcus to cut my hair perfectly, and give me great color. He understands what I want and what will look good on me. Best stylist ever!

    Customer since April 2013

  • 5

    Great Cut...

    Have been having Marcus cut my hair for 12 years. He does a great job and is a treat to deal with. I highly recommend him.

    Customer since September 2014

  • 5

    Divine!

    I had such a wonderful time in the company of Marcus today, he was so warm and welcoming from the minute I came up the stairs, like he was genuinely glad to see me, even as a first time client. He fully explained his methods and products to me, how they work and have been certified organic. My hair has turned out beautifully, it has a gorgeous shine and feels so much healthier, without that "processed color smell" of other methods that stay for days. So very happy, thank you, Marcus ;-)))

    Customer since September 2014

  • 5

    Awesome Stylist

    I found Marcus through my search for a stylist who used organic products. Marcus sets very high standards. His organic products are certified organic to the highest level. He has immense knowledge about what is in and what is not in his products. He also has a very well trained eye for what color works best with ones hair. I love my hair color and how my hair feels. I also feel that the higher organic prices are worth the cost. Lastly, Marcus is the kindest person.

    Customer since July 2014

  • 5

    Molly from the South Shore..loves Marcus!

    I have been coming to Marcus for 3 years for organic color and highlights. He is professional and wants the best for us (and our hair!) He has a heart of gold. I would highly recommend his services and love the salon! So bright and clean.

    Customer since March 2012

  • 5

    Marcus is fabulous!

    While attending a law conference in Boston, I treated myself to a cut and organic color. I am so glad I found Marcus! The reviews on him are not exaggerated--he is the best! I only regret that I live too far away to see him regularly. Marcus is also a genuinely wonderful person, making the experience even that much more enjoyable. You will not be disappointed!

    Customer since June 2014

  • 5

    He is great!!

    First, I want to reiterate all the positives that have been bestowed on Marcus. I went to him because of an allergic reaction to the hair color products I had been using. I couldn't be happier with the results. He not only did a fabulous job with the color correction but gave me wonderful highlights and a great cut - fixing everything that was wrong with my existing cut. The added benefit is getting to know Marcus. I too am a lifer.

    Customer since June 2014

  • 5

    Highly recommended!

    Marcus has done both color-correction and natural looking highlights on me and both times it has been some of the best , healthiest color I've ever had. He is fabulous! Super friendly and professional stylist who gives a great consultation. Since I am pregnant , he arranged the most convenient time and healthy environment for me, he uses all organic products, I get pampered every time I go there. He was a lot of fun to sit with. Highly recommended!

    Customer since May 2014

  • 5

    Doesn't get better - ANYwhere

    I have dug deep in Boston and NYC for the right stylist, colorist and product-conscious professional. With Marcus, I have all of the above PLUS personality. Invaluable to me, I no longer cringe at the thought of what my scalp (and therefore the rest of me) is ingesting just to cover my roots. All organic at last! Too, Marcus cuts like a tailor - to suit the subject, not some notion of wishful thinking. He has an informed understanding of all that he does and uses. I am a lifer!

    Customer since June 2014

  • 5

    Great haircut, great service!

    Marcus is easily the best stylist I've ever had-- he's friendly but professional, and his haircut has already drawn many compliments even though it's less than 24 hours old. I'd recommend him to anyone!

    Customer since June 2014

  • 5

    Best find ever!

    Marcus is extremely skilled at using organic color to create a natural look. I am delighted to have found him after becoming sensitive to regular hair dye....He saved me from having to go gray and has improved the shine & softness of my hair. I get many compliments & always give credit to my fab new stylist!!

    Customer since January 2014

  • 5

    Great stylist!!!!!!

    Marcus is a wonderful stylist His cuts, his color savy and styling sense and knowledge are fantastic I also love that he uses all organic I highly recommend him!!!!!!!

    Customer since September 2012

  • 5

    Highly recommend!

    Marcus did an excellent job with an organic highlight and a cut that works well for my thinning hair. Marcus has a great personality and is fun to spend time with. I am also very happy with his new location.....just steps from the Public Garden. I give Marcus my highest recommendation.

    Customer since September 2012

  • 5

    The Best!

    Marcus is all that and then some. I love going to visit him...we have such great conversation, and he knows exactly what to do to my hair to make me look awesome. I love my red hair color....it lasts and lasts. (I go every 5 weeks and it still looks amazing up until the day I get it colored again.) Organic Color Systems rocks. But Marcus rocks more. Can't wait until my next visit!

    Customer since September 2013

  • 5

    In a word: Brilliant

    Let's say you're getting bored with your 'do. Same length, same color, same shape for too long? Marcus will change things up with sensitivity and style, and you will love it. Do like I do with my 'do (been 15 years and never been bored) and sit in Marcus's chair at the stunning Cynthia K. Salon.

    Customer since April 2012

  • 5

    Excellent as always

    My first appt with Marcus in his new digs. Bright and cheery, and as always, Marcus always delivers. My hair color and style was excellent.

    Customer since April 2013

  • 5

    Go to Marcus for healthy, beautiful hair!

    Marcus uses only organic products, and as a result, my hair always looks very natural, shiny, happy, and healthy. He pays attention to what you want, and works with you to help you achieve just the right look. I highly recommend Marcus as a stylist and colorist!

    Customer since October 2013

  • 5

    The best stylist I've ever had!!

    Marcus does excellent work, and the organic coloring is entirely worth the extra money. I really enjoy the personal touch that he adds!

    Customer since February 2013

  • 5

    A Genius!!

    Marcus clearly possesses a natural talent and skill to see the detail as well as the larger picture when consulting on color and cut. I am so pleased with his professionalism, artistry, and the organic products he uses! I want all my sisters and friends to see him!

    Customer since January 2014

  • 5

    Excellent!

    Marcus is an excellent colorist and hairstylist and a lovely person. The organic color leaves my hair incredibly healthy and natural looking. I highly recommend Marcus for color and cuts.

    Customer since October 2013

  • 4

    Excellent

    Marcus is brilliant. Best cut and color I have ever had. AND I all organic. Love love love love love.

    Customer since January 2014

  • 5

    My Stylist Marcus

    My visit with Marcus I always walk away happier than I ever imagined. He knows exactly what your hair needs at the time of your visit. My highlights and cut are always flattering and I get a double take as I walk down the street. He is an amazing stylist and treats everyones hair as an individual project!

    Customer since March 2013

  • 5

    Couldn't have been better

    My first time visiting Marcus, and after years of settling for a sub-par cut somewhere else, I left being totally happy with my hair. A few days later and I'm still psyched with it. Highly recommend a visit, especially given the 'first time' coupon you can use. After you do that, you'll definitely be back.

    Customer since October 2013

  • 5

    Always leave feeling like 1 million bucks!

    Marcus does a great job and always gives you his honest opinion on what he thinks will work with your hair in terms of color and cut. He's also fun to spend time with. Ask to see a picture of his dog!

    Customer since July 2012

  • 5

    LOVE LOVE LOVE!

    I was going to a salon a few blocks from my condo. They were just ok, but when they relocated, I didn't follow. I began looking for salons that used organic, cruelty free hair color, and I found Marcus. What a fantastic experience. Marcus is so knowledgeable and pleasant! He gave me a red color that flatters my skin tone and a cut that's adorable. I can't wait to go back!

    Customer since September 2013

  • 5

    Thanks Marcus!

    Another wonderful hair care appointment! I am always delighted wit the expertise that Marcus brings to each appointment. He is very professional and knowledgeable. He uses only organic products for the hair. This is very special indeed! Thanks so much!

    Customer since June 2012

  • 5

    another great visit

    A haircut with Marcus is always a good experience. I've been going for years and look forward to it every time. Even though I let my hair grow wildly for many months at a time, he always shapes it up depending on what I want to do at the moment.

    Customer since July 2012

  • 5

    My Stylist Marcus

    I just had another great visit with Marcus for a cut and organic highlight. Marcus has been shaping my hair as it grows back in after losing it to chemo treatments. I am very happy with the organic products he uses (no toxins) and my new look. Marcus is not only a talented stylist, he is a great person and quite entertaining to spend time with. I look forward to going back again. I wouldn't go anywhere else! I give Marcus my highest recommendation.

    Customer since September 2012

  • 5

    I love Marcus

    He knows hair so well and does a fabulous job transforming my hair - and not only does he do such a great job but I truly look forward to spending the time with him! And he is dedicated to finding and using the best, healthiest products for his clients, making us feel particularly cared for :)

    Customer since April 2013

  • 5

    They're Lookin' at You

    When you step out of Marcus's chair, you will turn heads. Friends, family, co-workers, total strangers will notice, You will hear: "Got a haircut? Looks great!" Or, "Who does your hair? Gotta find someone who knows what to do with curly hair." The answer is Marcus, and it has been for years. He always has ideas that he brings chair-side. And he always listen to yours.

    Customer since April 2012

  • 5

    A high-end stylist with a down-to-earth attitude

    I found Marcus when I was researching online for organic products, as I no longer wished to subject myself to toxic chemicals when I get my hair dyed. My haircut and color look natural and soft and perfect. I immediately found myself trusting in Marcus' expertise, and I was right to do so. He is so knowledgeable and experienced, and his taste is superb. I cannot recommend him enough.

    Customer since April 2013

  • 5

    Loved Marcus and the magic he did with my hair

    My hair is thin and frizzy. I walked out of Salon Red feeling like a new person. My hair looked amazing. I felt like Michelle Obama!! I loved the organic products and will continue to use them. The experience was fabulous. Marcus has a knack with hair that I have never seen before.

    Customer since March 2013

  • 5

    My Stylist Marcus

    Marcus is an amazing, creative stylist that has a great gift of listening to his clients. He has turned my hair quality from dull harsh To bright shinny and bouncy! I always learn something new from my visit. He can turn around your day from stressful to floating on cloud 9!! He is the best!

    Customer since March 2013

  • 5

    one and only

    My only reluctance at providing a recommendation to Marcus is that it will be harder for me to get an appointment. He is a miracle worker, finding my inner blonde each and every time I sit in the chair. Trust him - he'll be honest and do right by you to make you look your best when you walk out of the salon, and for weeks (and months) afterward.

    Customer since November 2011

  • 5

    Looking good

    Once again Marcus has made my hair look fabulous with a nice natural looking blond that blends nicely when my roots grow out. I frequently get complements on how nice it looks. I like that the process leaves my hair nice and soft without that nasty smell.

    Customer since May 2012

  • 5

    Wonderful as always

    I've had Marcus cut my hair for several years now, and he always does a great job. He always listens to what I'm thinking at the time, whether needing my hair cut short so I can frolic off to the tropics or growing it out long again.

    Customer since July 2012

  • 5

    First visit

    I recently had my hair colored by Marcus I was very pleased with the results I am delighted to find a place that offers organic hair coloring I was also impressed with Marcus's expertise and attention to detail. He had several suggestions; two of them which I look forwar to implementing in my next visit . By the way, the coffee was excellent

    Customer since January 2013

  • 5

    Excellent experience

    Marcus came in on his day off to do my hair for wedding. He is awesome! All the products are organic and he is well educated on how they work. I learned a lot and had a great cut and color. Will definitely go back!

    Customer since December 2012

  • 5

    Great personalized experience

    I took a chance with Marcus by purchasing a keratin treatment on Bloomspot. I highly recommend him...his prices are competitive, his service is very personalized, all products are organic, and he is a good person. I will return and recommend him to my friends.

    Customer since September 2012

  • 5

    Great first visit

    Marcus is like a mind reader. Right from the first we were on the same wavelength - what I disliked about my previous cut and color were exactly what he thought wasn't quite right for me. The end result was perfect!

    Customer since December 2012

  • 5

    Client

    Marcus is fabulous once again. Thank you for my great haircut and color. It was great to see you in Concord.

    Customer since November 2012

  • 5

    Marcus does it again!

    Went in looking like Don King, went out looking like Don Juan! ...and it's really a pain that this review has to be 100 characters long. I prefer to be - let's say - 'pithy'...

    Customer since November 2012

  • 5

    Turn heads

    When you step out of Marcus's chair on to Newbury Street -- and to wherever you are headed to next -- you will look stunning. You will turn heads. You will hear, "I love your hair, where do you go?" The answer is Marcus. It's been happening to me for years. Now it's your turn to turn heads.

    Customer since April 2012

  • 5

    Fabulous, as always

    I have been going to Marcus for many years. He has defined my look to my liking, and then evolved it as I become "more mature". The color always looks natural and blends unbelievably with my own so there is no obvious stripe when I let it go longer than I should. I am glad Marcus is my stylist for a long time to come.

    Customer since May 2012

  • 5

    Highest Recommendation for Marcus

    Marcus is helping me grow out my hair after losing it to chemo tx. My 1st visit was 9 mos ago w/shaping & an organic hi-lite & I just returned to have my 2nd cut/hi-lite. I feel safe using an organic product & I am very happy w/the style he suggested. Marcus is talented, kind & funny. It was actually fun to have my hair done, like hanging out w/a best friend. I highly recommend Marcus!

    Customer since September 2012

  • 5

    Marcus was fantastic!

    Marcus gave me a great hair cut and beautiful, natural color! He really knows his stuff, uses organic products and is delightful to spend time with! My hair looks like it did 15 years ago, before I ever used color. I will definitely recommend to family and friends. Thanks for a great experience, Marcus!

    Customer since September 2012

  • 5

    Marcus great stylist

    Marcus is truly an expert hair colorist and stylist. He has a good eye for what is appropriate for your hair and face shape. I recommend him with great enthusiasm. I also love the fact that he uses organic products. This is very important to me.

    Customer since September 2012

  • 5

    Marcus is wonderful

    I love his organic products. He's great and really understands color. You'll love him!! Can't wait to see him again.

    Customer since August 2012

  • 5

    Fabulous new look!

    Marcus is very easy to talk to, 100% knows what he is doing, and does NOT have this awful attitude! If you think about trying a new color or style, Marcus is the stylist you need to see! He took his time talking to me, really trying to find out what I wanted, after that he educated me on what color/cut looks good for me. Fabulous new healthy look!

    Customer since September 2012

  • 4

    Love my hair!

    I was drawn to Marcus due to the organic hair color product offered through his service. I enjoyed the one on one service and left with a great haircut and almost full gray coverage. I will surely go back!

    Customer since August 2012

  • 5

    Great experience, great result, excellent products!

    Very professional, went out of his way to accomodate my schedule. Only takes one client at the time. High quality Vegan products, no chemicals, no itch, no unpleasent odors. Definitely a place to go back for the quality of the services.

    Customer since July 2012

  • 5

    Amazing Hair

    Marcus was amazing! Found him through an online deal - did color, cut & keratin. Love the organic products and he was able to fix my hair color while explaining what went wrong with previous color. Will definitely go back and tell all my friends. Also the four hours we sent together flew by - he was easy to talk to and I left feeling like I made a new friend!

    Customer since June 2012

  • 5

    Hair Revival

    Went to go see Marcus after buying a coupon online. I had a great color and cut and Marcus was great at educating me about my hair and the treatments applied. I love the organic products and would definitely recommend to a friend.

    Customer since June 2012

  • 5

    Fine and fabulous

    My mother and I have been going to see Marcus for years and he has never disappointed. I am told that I would never be satisfied with the layering if I went anywhere else, after his masterful work.

    Customer since June 2012

  • 5

    Love my hair cut and color!

    Marcus was fantastic and I am so happy that I decided to splurge and get his professional help. I would recommend him to anyone!

    Customer since June 2012

  • 5

    Good Stuff

    I just found Marcus and I am so happy. My cut & color are great. He really knows his stuff and his use and knowledge of organic products is fantastic. He took his time explained things plus his great personality just made the whole experience fun.

    Customer since May 2012

  • 5

    Great Job

    Marcus really took his time to do a great job. They were running late and instead of rushing through my job, he took his time and did it right.

    Customer since May 2012

  • 5

    Great job!

    Marcus did an excellent job telling me exactly what he was doing and how my hair could be improved. The products are fantastic!

    Customer since May 2012

  • 5

    A good choice

    Marcus is a remarkable stylist! He is excellent with color and love the fact that he has all organic!! Highly recommend.

    Customer since February 2012

  • 5

    appointment

    Marcus gave me a great haircut and highlight. I will definately be back. Marcus also has a great personality so the appointment was fun.

    Customer since March 2012

  • 5

    Expert Hair Consultant

    Hair is the mirror of your health and is the richest ornament of a women or man. Organic hair products will assist in keeping your hair and scalp healthy, while looking and feeling good. Marcus knows the science behind taking care of your hair and individualizes your specific needs. I have finally found the expert in Boston for my hair health and share my experiences with others. Boston is fortunate to have him!

    Customer since April 2012

  • 5

    Go Organic!

    I am so delighted to have found a stylist who uses organic ingredients! My hair feels soft and smells delicious! With at least 20 years experience, Marcus is very knowledgeable about hair types, color and style. He listens well and then knows just what to do! I definitely recommend him to others, and will return myself at another time.Thank you Marcus!

    Customer since March 2012

  • 4

    Ooo la la for organics

    Marcus has a steady hand and a great deal of talent. The organic keratin treatment was comfortable and faster than expected. I have had compliments and I love it too! I look forward to using the special keratin shampoo and conditioner that Marcus recommended. Thank-you for a great experience and delicious hot chocolate!

    Customer since February 2012

  • 5

    Marcus is amazing

    Marcus has a wonderful and calm personality on top of being a fantastic hairdresser. He focuses on the health of your hair, as well as the cut and color that is right for you. He goes out of his way to make sure that you are happy with the end result. The organic products are also the best I've ever had in my hair!

    Customer since February 2012

  • 5

    HAIR DONE BY MARCUS

    Marcus put me at ease even though it was my first visit. He uses great products and was focused on what I told him I wanted for my hair. Great to talk to. Highly recommended.

    Customer since January 2012

  • 5

    Love Marcus and My New Hair!

    The beautiful organic color is gorgeous-cut wonderful too! Marcus had his hands full after a bad color and cut last month elsewhere!!! He saved me! I will be back and I've already sent invites to all my friends to join me! Thanks Marcus! Joni

    Customer since February 2012

  • 5

    Rare Find

    It's been over a week and I still can't believe how good my hair looks. I walked in with a bad dye job and long hair halfway down my back. I left with the blonde hair of my childhood, perfectly matched to my skin tone and long bob style haircut that made me feel like a new person. There are very few stylist that I would trust to do that. 15 years off my life just like that! Marcus, THANK YOU

    Customer since February 2012

  • 5

    WHEN YOU WANT THE BEST

    Marcus came into my life a couple of months ago and i wouldn't think of having anyone else touch my hair. He is knowledgeable and smart and experienced and no one has ever created highlights such as the ones he did for me. His organic hair products are the best, but mostly, it's all Marcus. He's the best!

    Customer since February 2012

  • 5

    Love my stylist

    Great stylist. Haircut. Color. Keratin all wonderful. And all natural!! Highly recommend!!!Marcus will do wonders for anyone no matter what kind of hair

    Customer since February 2012

  • 5

    Attentive

    My appointment yesterday with Marcus was one of the most enjoyable salon visits in recent years! There are many capable stylists on Newbury Street, but if you are looking for somebody who pays attention to your needs and wishes, this is the man you want to see! Marcus considered the shape of my face and came up with a great cut that is perfect for me! After years of coloring my hair myself, I am returning tomorrow for an organic color in a very respectful and comfortable atmosphere!

    Customer since February 2012

  • 5

    Marcus is the best!

    Marcus is very talented, super friendly and the only person allowed to cut my hair. He really knows what he is doing and I have no doubt he could make any type of hair look amazing. The fact that all his products are organic, vegan and without any carcinogens is such a great bonus. Every time he cuts my hair, I get plenty of complements. I would recommend him to everyone!

    Customer since February 2012

  • 5

    Marcus is the Best!!!

    You can tell that Marcus has years of experience with coloring and cutting because he gave me tailored recommendations according to my hair type. I absolutely LOVE the results and Marcus!

    Customer since January 2012

  • 5

    A Find!

    I try to live a holistic healthy lifestyle but my hair salons have always been at odds with that. What a relief to find Marcus who not only gets it but is so dedicated to carrying the safest products he can. And for once I feel like I don't have to choose between being healthy or looking good!

    Customer since January 2012

  • 5

    A Big Fan of Marcus!

    A top notch cut and color. Marcus has a wealth of knowledge about the organic products he uses. He honestly cares about the health and well being of you and your hair. I feel and look great thanks to Marcus!

    Customer since November 2011

  • 5

    Compassionate & Talented

    I am currently battling cancer & just recently saw Marcus for some help w/my new hair. Marcus knew exactly what to do; using an organic hi-light & a cut to help it grow into the right style for me. Marcus is very kind, funny & could relate to how I'm feeling. Chemo robbed me of my health, my hair & my self-esteem but after spending the afternoon w/Marcus, I know I have a great friend & the motivation I need to get back on track. I will DEFINITELY be back to see him!

    Customer since December 2011

  • 5

    Cut from Marcus

    I had a great time with Marcus. He made me feel comfortable and confident that I would be leaving the salon with a beautiful hair cut. I will definitely be going back to Marcus for my next cut - and maybe color!

    Customer since December 2011

  • 5

    Amazing!

    I live in England now, and I waited for a haircut until I was back visiting Boston so I could go to Marcus. Beyond just being a warm and engaging person, Marcus is clearly gifted at what he does. Wonderful haircut and person!

    Customer since January 2012

  • 5

    Great kerratin treatment

    I had an organic kerratin treatment done by Marcus yesterday and I appreciated the fact that he payed close attention to detail to ensure that it came out perfectly. The organic kerratin treatment itself is a great alternative to the other harmful kerratin treatments on the market. Marcus was very personable and knowledgeable. The treatment took it took 4.5 hours and Marcus was very attentive throughout.

    Customer since October 2011

  • 5

    Master Colorist

    For whatever reason the salon did not have the hair color I normally use. Marcus though was able to create his own fabulous hair color that came out fantastically! I have been getting non-stop compliments. I love the prodcuts he uses, their is never any chemical stench.

    Customer since December 2011

  • 5

    Five stars aren't enough for Marcus!

    I am so happy to have found Marcus at Salon Red. Having my hair cut and colored by Marcus is like visiting a great friend-when you leave you not only look better, but you feel good, too! I have gotten so many compliments on my hair and I owe it all to Marcus and his awesome organic products! What are you waiting for...book your appointment with Marcus!!

    Customer since October 2011

  • 5

    I love my new haircut and color!

    Marcus is the 1st hairdresser i've had who actually tells me their honest professional opinion on what color, length and style really suits my face shape and skin tone. I love it! Also the hair color he uses is all organic and has a nice liquorice smell to it rather than a nasty chemical smell! My hair is soft and shiny and I love it! I'll definately be back and I highly recommend!

    Customer since December 2011

  • 5

    Marcus is the best!

    Marcus spent 7 hours doing keratin, cut and color for my ethick curly hair! He was SO patient and unbelievably concerned about getting it just right. I love it & have gotten so many compliments!! The keratin is exactly what he promised- I can dry it straight in 10 minutes OR wear my natural curls. Marcus' organic keratin is so much better than ther other kerative treatments (which I have done). I will definitely be doing seeing him again :)

    Customer since October 2011

  • 5

    Yay for Marcus!

    I love having Marcus cut my hair. He always listens to what I need at the moment and makes the best suggestions. I would fly to Boston just to have him cut my hair! I'm loving my new cut and have gotten so many compliments!

    Customer since October 2011

  • 5

    Marcus is the Best

    Not only does he make you feel at home, but he has incredible talent. He made a few suggestions on what to do with my hair and he was spot on. I absolutely LOVE the result. He has a very nice way about him and I wouldn't go anywhere else. Thank you Marcus!

    Customer since October 2011

  • 5

    So nice, funny, creative and caring!

    LOVE Marcus! He is like hanging out with a best friend :) He is so nice and very much has your hairs best interest at heart! His "All Natural" products are yummy to smell and left my hair so healthy and shiny. Great cut, color and a FAB blow dry--lots of compliments on my healthy new 'do courtesy of Marcus! I will definitely be back and cannot recommend him enough!

    Customer since October 2011

Business Information

Hours Tue8:00am - 4:00pm
Wed8:00am - 4:00pm
Fri8:00am - 4:00pm
Sat8:00am - 4:00pm
Sun8:00am - 4:00pm
Phone (617) 838-8128
Location Get directions
Website mystylistmarcus.com