Genbook verified user seal

These reviews are from verified customers of this business.

VERIFIED CUSTOMER REVIEWS
  • 2

    Would Not Recommend

    The receptionist was rude to us. The selection is terrible. They are not warm and welcoming. In fact they are a bit snooty. The service here compared to the other bridal shops I visited was very much lacking. I would not recommend Emerald City nor would I return to purchase my gown. Trying on bridal gowns should be happy and fun!

    Customer since June 2014

  • 4

    Friendly, polite, and patient

    Excellent customer service! Very polite and not pushy. Although I did not find my dress here on the first try if I lived in the area I would go in frequently to eventually find it because they are so friendly.

    Customer since August 2014

  • 5

    One store. Three dresses. Thirty Minutes. Done.

    Great store with an exceptionally friendly staff. I went in just wanting a dress that made me feel lovely, without a specific style in mind. It was the third dress that I tried on. Loved it, sent around a few photos for feedback, bought it, and was leaving the store a half hour later. Great prices, quality gowns, fabulous service (and delicious brunch across the street)!

    Customer since August 2014

  • 5

    2nd and last store

    I received excellent service and had great experience. I was treated so well. I was able to try on some many dress and they all fit. I got my dress veil and some goodies well under my price. I must say for me this was best way to dress shop.

    Customer since August 2014

  • 5

    I love Emerald City!

    This was my first stop on my dress hunt and I had a wonderful experience. I loved the selection of gowns (I'm a smaller size and thought I wouldn't have much to choose from) and despite the fact that these were consignment, they were all in lovely practically-new condition. The best thing about Emerald City is that if you find "the one", you can walk out with it that day! Perfect for last-minute brides.

    Customer since August 2014

  • 5

    Bought a dress for under $500!!

    Came in here really hoping to find something after a trip to a normal wedding dress store where I found one I liked for $1400. Emilie helped us find two incredibly great options (from my "spirit designer" as she said) and I walked away with a fabulous beaded Gatsby-esque dress for less than $500. I still can't believe it!! Would highly recommend this place and I hope you just as much luck as I did!

    Customer since August 2014

  • 5

    Wonderful place to buy wedding attire

    This was a wonderful shop. I came with my parents and we had a really positive experience. Emilie has made very thoughtful selections to create her inventory and has a great eye for what works well. She's also very pleasant and it's a great environment.

    Customer since July 2014

  • 5

    great stuff

    i was in and out in 40 min with an awesome dress and within my budget. emillie was patient, not at all judgmental, and made me feel very comfortable. she had great suggestions, and showed me exactly what i was looking for. so happy i went there. made my life a little less hectic.

    Customer since August 2014

  • 5

    Awesome experience

    I had less than great experiences shopping for dresses in the bay area. Emerald City was the complete opposite. They worked within my budget and showed me a large selection of dresses. I never felt pressured and they really listened to my needs. I found my dream dress which turned out to be a sample size that was never worn. I could not have been able to afford that dress anywhere else. I am grateful for the pressure free environment and knowledgeable sales associates.

    Customer since October 2013

  • 5

    Done and done!

    A huge thank you to Emerald City Gowns. There was so much more selection than I thought there would be. I found a perfect dress for me that was within my budget...so I bought a nice veil and jacket to match. The dress was a couture dress from this year that was a sample so it was never worn before but considerably discounted. The customer service was great. Emilie managed to keep my mom happy and calm, while helping me try on about four dresses. We got a lot accomplished in one hour!

    Customer since August 2014

  • 5

    A wonderful and, may I say, successful experience

    I was thinking I would find a very nice dress or gown, not necessarily a "wedding dress" as this will be my 2nd marriage. It was a frustrating quest. So, I tried the more traditional venues. Emerald City was the second shop I visited; I didn't even stay 10 minutes at the first shop. I was trying not to panic; our wedding is in 10 weeks. But Emelie is wonderful, really knows her dresses and her suggestions were perfect. I bought a gown I never would have imagined or considered! I am so grateful!

    Customer since July 2014

  • 4

    Great everything

    As we walk through the door a bridal consultant was waiting for our arrival and greeted us as we walked in. She immediately assisted the bride in finding her dream dress as we waited for the first showing. Every gown was in excellent condition and looked beautiful on her. Unfortunately they didn't have exactly what she was looking for, but we had a wonderful time with Emerald city gowns and would recommend anyone to visit this bridal shop.

    Customer since July 2014

  • 5

    Wonderful Experience

    My mom and I came into Emerald City Gowns with and open mind, this was my first gown appointment and I wasn't exactly sure what I was looking for. I had browsed the Pinterest page before the appt so I had an idea of some of some dresses I wanted to try and Kasondra helped me pick several options based on what I was selecting as well. After trying on 4-5 that I really liked I finally tried on "the one". I was so easy, fun and relaxing. Plus the prices can't be beat! Thanks for everything!

    Customer since July 2014

  • 5

    Perfect Appointment

    We had a wonderful experience working with Emilie to find my wedding dress. Using the Pinterest page, we came prepared to give her an idea of what I wanted in a dress. WIth just a few questions, she showed me five dresses I loved. The only hard part was deciding which one would be MY dress. I appreciated the low-pressure, relaxed vibe at the shop and Emilie's calm yet knowledgeable demeanor. We left with a beautiful dress that will wow my fiancé. I didn't know dress shopping could be this easy!

    Customer since July 2014

  • 5

    What A Wonderful Experience

    I was so impressed with the quality and selection of gowns. Rachel was patient, fun and helpful. I wasn't sure what I was looking for but thought I would know when I found THE dress - and I did! It was not one I would have thought to try on and I am so happy Rachel suggested it. I am so glad I found Emerald City Gowns and the ladies there who are simply wonderful.

    Customer since July 2014

  • 5

    Awesome

    I went in with some pretty definite ideas about what I wanted and didn't want, and the consultant enthusiastically pulled out a number of options fitting my specifications. She occasionally threw in some adventurous pieces "just for fun" and I ended up with the perfect gown... which was actually nothing like what I claimed I was looking for! I was lucky to have had her guidance!

    Customer since July 2014

  • 4

    Worthwhile experience

    My consultant was friendly and knowledgable. She listened to what I want and then respectfully added to it, which was very helpful. She had great advice and the selection of gowns was great. I definitely recommend a visit in conjunction with other shops.

    Customer since July 2014

  • 5

    Great experience!

    Working with Emilie was great! She has a great selection of dresses of different styles that are reasonably priced. She is super knowledgable and great at making suggestions. She makes you feel great. I felt like a million bucks in there. The location is great and the store itself is adorable. I would highly recommend future brides to check it out!

    Customer since May 2014

  • 5

    Great service and beautiful dresses

    I went for my 2nd wedding dress shopping experience and it was great! Emilie was so sweet and fun to work with. She found the perfect dress for me! I recommend going here after you "think" you know what you want. They had absolutely beautiful dresses here with a wide selection. I fell in love with a couple. Emilie's service made me want to spend my money here as well just because she wasn't pushy, she was sweet, fun and helpful :) Thank you Emerald City Gowns for the wonderful experience!

    Customer since June 2014

  • 5

    Very helpful

    I went to ECG for my first appointment with no wedding dress vocabulary and very little vision of what I was looking for. Rachel spent a LOT of time with us and quickly learned what would fit me, both physically and emotionally. I left with a list of 5 dresses that are strong contenders!

    Customer since June 2014

  • 5

    Great spot!

    Getting married? Make an appointment at Emerald City now, after you've visited other spots. Then, as you try on stuff here that's equally great as other places but much less expensive than most, you'll breathe a great sigh of relief. Also you'll have a blast and feel super fancy in the lovely try-on salon she has set up. Don't forget your gaggle of friends. High five!

    Customer since May 2014

  • 5

    wedding dress shopping

    I highly recommend shopping for a wedding dress with Emilie at Emerald City Gowns. Although I didn't end up finding my dress there, I was really happy with the shopping experience. Emilie has a wonderful attitude, was super helpful and fun. She made me think about styles I hadn't considered (which ultimately lead me to find a dress I love). The dress selection is great too, beautiful dresses in excellent condition and very reasonable prices. Definitely check them out.

    Customer since May 2014

  • 4

    Very Pleased Non-Princess Bride

    While I am thrilled to be getting married, I am not a big party/outfit planner. This was a pleasant and not overwhelming experience, and I found a lovely gown in my price range.

    Customer since May 2014

  • 3

    Mediocre Overall Experience

    Good selection, conveniently organized by size, but I'd expect deeper discounts on used dresses. Especially since you can't order exactly what you want like in other stores. The woman helping me was not nearly as knowledgeable about bridal gowns (fabric, styles, etc.) as the other places I have visited. She was also less concerned with providing a positive experience - she seemed more interested in preventing me from touching the dresses than being considerate of my feelings and wish for modesty

    Customer since May 2014

  • 5

    Gorgeous selection that fits your budget!

    Parking was a little bit difficult but Emilie was so helpful and the selection of bridal gowns were stunning. We found a dress that fit my frame and body type, along with a veil and sparkly belt. I don't even need alterations. One stop shop for me! Although it is was used, it didn't lose it's quality at all. Love my dress! Will definitely recommend this place to all my friends and family.

    Customer since May 2014

  • 5

    Follow the Yellow Brick Road to this Gem of a shop!!!

    Emilie is, by far, the greatest. I have no idea how to describe how amazing it was to find my dream wedding dress with Emilie. She's just so amazing and professional and Splendiferousness. I am so happy. She found my dream dress and under budget too!!! This should have been my only stop. Don't make the same mistake I did looking around for the right shop. Emerald City Gowns is the only place anyone should go. Thank you so much Emilie. You're the best!!

    Customer since May 2014

  • 5

    Love Emerald City Gowns!

    I came in this past week to find a dress for a wedding with a very short turnaround. All there sales gals were super nice and knowledgable and helped me find the perfect dress. Whoever wore the dress must have had my build because it seemed to be tailored for my body. This is a huge relief since I don't have much time before the wedding. I highly recommend ECG- they have unique style dresses with great prices and they are super helpful and great with customer service.

    Customer since April 2014

  • 5

    making my life easy

    I came in this last weekend to consign my wedding dress. I left really happy with the set price and confident that the dress will find a happy buyer. I was in and out in about 10-20 minutes max and a lot less stressed out afterwards! Hopefully the dress sells soon. Highly suggest Emerald City Gowns.

    Customer since April 2014

  • 5

    Cute and unique boutique

    Although I didn't find THE dress here, I had an amazing experience trying on dresses. The associates were very attentive and helpful and made my day memorable. Thanks!

    Customer since April 2014

  • 5

    Quick & Efficient

    I wanted a dress that looked like a wedding dress for under $500 and I got that at Emerald City. I tried on a bunch of dresses quickly and then, Emilie and I narrowed down the choices to 4 dresses, and from there, I walked out with a beautiful dress for $425. Emilie gave me a great recommendation for a place to get alterations right by my house. All in all, the whole experience was quick and easy, which made me very happy.

    Customer since March 2014

  • 5

    Great place

    I had a great experience at Emerald City Gowns. Emilie and Rachel were both very helpful and they had a very large dress selection. Rachel helped me with each dress and included my mom and sisters in the experience. My sister even had her 6 month old daughter with her, and they were very welcoming and made my sister feel comfortable with nursing, etc. This made the experience even more positive for me and my entourage! Thanks ECG! I would recommend this place to every bride.

    Customer since March 2014

  • 5

    Emilie is brilliant!

    I had the best experience at Emerald City Gowns!!! Emilie paid attention to what I liked and every dress was amazing! The best part was that the dresses I tried on were in my size! The last dress I tried on was EVERYTHING I wanted! The dress fit me like a glove and I will not need a single alteration. This was my third time dress shopping, and it was by far the best. I will be recommending to every Bay Area bride I meet to go see Emilie at Emerald City Gowns!

    Customer since April 2014

  • 5

    great experience!

    Cassandra was wonderful, really informative and generous with her time. I definitely recommend this for any brides-to-be looking for an affordable and relaxing alternative to dress shopping!

    Customer since March 2014

  • 5

    A comfy, helpful place!

    Cassandra was so helpful and easy to get along with. This was only my second trial trying on dresses, and she helped by zoning in on my budget, desired dress elements, and even expanded my options based on how she saw my react. Really appreciated her input.

    Customer since March 2014

  • 5

    Love it

    Loved her. Love my dress. Love the price of the dress. Definitely check it out. You can't do better.

    Customer since March 2014

  • 5

    happy to have found the one

    I quickly discovered that I did not enjoy dress shopping. The idea of spending $1800 on a dress was just unfathomable to me. I was reluctant to try again in another shop, but they were so patient with me and understanding of my needs. We found a dress that I loved, felt comfortable in, and in my very low price range. I am so happy that I went here. The dress selection was very good. The dresses looked like new and the staff were great.

    Customer since March 2014

  • 5

    My first time

    This was my first time trying on dresses, and a consignment bridal shop sounded like the place for me. Although my wedding is not for another 2 years and i went in pretty sure i would not be buying a dress that day, Cassandra made me feel so welcome and really listened to what i wanted in a dress. What a great consultant, not only knowledgable and helpful, but very kind and really made me feel good. Definitely somewhere i would check back before the big day.

    Customer since February 2014

  • 5

    Checking off find dress on my to do list!

    Thanks Emilie for a great experience! I was super surprised to find a dress AND a veil! I really appreciated the help pulling dresses and the ease of the shopping experience. Super excited to check this off my to do list!

    Customer since February 2014

  • 5

    Great selection and service

    Emilie was great, and the experience was very relaxed. It was nice that we were the only ones in the store.

    Customer since January 2014

  • 5

    Wedding Dress Shopping

    I loved my experience at Emerald City Gowns! Emilie was super helpful and patient. The selection was also great for any price range, and the dresses are in great condition. The vibe was also super laid back compared to other stores I visited. I am so happy with my dress!

    Customer since January 2014

  • 5

    First dress I tried was mine

    After going to 5 other boutiques (which were much more expensive) and not falling in love with any dresses, I came here. Emilie listened to what I wanted and pulled several dresses. I was immediately impressed as she understood what I meant. I tried on the first one (she said the dress was brought to here just 45 minutes ago). The dress was mine! No alterations needed at all, it fit me like a glove. I am so happy and now I also have some $$ to buy a nice engagement photo shoot dress.

    Customer since January 2014

  • 5

    Very Pleasant Experience

    I had fun working with Emilie and Cassandra. They were both very nice and helpful and really took their time in helping me find my dress. Emilie listened to all of my concerns. She was able to find a dress that fits me very well. No alterations needed. I highly recommend this shop to all the brides out there that are searching for the perfect dress. Emilie is down to earth and very pleasant to work with. She has a variety of gowns to choose from and prices are very reasonable.

    Customer since January 2014

  • 5

    Great Experience

    Really great experience, Emilie is not pushy at all & lets you try on everything you like. Also lots of different sizes so you don't have to try on dresses with huge clips in the back that don't even fit you!

    Customer since August 2012

  • 5

    excellent customer service and knowledge

    What a great shop! I was so grateful to discover this place. Emilie has such an excellent selection of dresses. I love the concept of the store and I felt I received the best that she had to offer within my budget. I will be back and I hope that I can make a purchase to help support her business.

    Customer since January 2014

  • 5

    Great dresses at great prices

    Had a short and sweet experience that ended in me getting a great and only barely used dress at an awesome price. Emilie was very helpful in selecting dresses, and provided great customer service.

    Customer since December 2013

  • 4

    Rushed but a good experience...

    After waiting for the last appointment to end (which ran long), Emilie and I gathered dresses and proceeded to try them on. I didn't like how I had to walk out to the other area to show a dress. The folks after me showed up about 15 minutes early, and sat with my friends in the entry area, which us where I would show them dresses! Random people ended up commenting on my dress selection, which I didn't like. I did not find my ideal dress, but I have to say the prices were fantastic.

    Customer since December 2013

  • 5

    Bridal Dress Hunt

    Emerald City was a breath of fresh air. Not only are you greeted by Emilie, the owner, you are the only ones in her shop! The atmosphere is intimate and inviting. The dresses are beautiful some are previously worn and others are sample dresses never worn. I walked away with a stunting previously worn dress at an amazing price. I would recommend ECG to anyone looking for a dress on a budget. The experience is the same you would get at a boutique bridal store minus the heafty price tag.

    Customer since December 2013

  • 5

    Wedding Dress day!

    Emilie was amazing! She has this very private bridal room with a separate room for all of her dresses...we walked in and she immediately welcomed us and we were already at ease, she gave the bride perfect choices and knew exactly what to look for. We loved the personal attention, it was private, fun, and stress free! I highly recommend Emerald City Gowns, and the prices are amazing!

    Customer since November 2013

  • 5

    purchased wedding dress

    Great experience, tried on several dresses and found the perfect one for a great price. Would definitely recommend this place :)

    Customer since December 2013

  • 5

    Trying on wedding dresses

    Emilie was super helpful and the overall experience was wonderful! Large selection of dresses for a variety of prices - great spot to look for wedding dresses!

    Customer since December 2013

  • 5

    Trying on dresses

    Fun experience! Little cottage was so cute. Emilie was very sweet and helpful. Found a perfect dress for me. Affordable prices. So glad I found this spot :)

    Customer since December 2013

  • 5

    great experience all round

    I had a great time shopping at Emerald City Gowns. Emilie is really knowledgeable about her dresses and very pleasant to work with. She pulled a great selection for me to try on within my budget, and she was very patient and not pushy at all. She really has a great collection of gowns. I found my dream dress and got it at a really good price. I could not have been happier, and my friends had a great time too.

    Customer since November 2013

  • 5

    Lovely dresses, lovely service

    I had an absolutely outstanding experience. Beautiful dresses, and kind, helpful, patient service. Excellent prices, unique dresses. I highly recommend!!!

    Customer since November 2013

  • 4

    Great service.

    I didn't find my dress here, but everyone was very kind and attentive. Also, the prices were very reasonable.

    Customer since November 2013

  • 5

    Amazing service, great selection

    I had a great experience at Emerald City Gowns. Both of the women helping me were super nice and helpful. I was amazed by how great their selection of dresses was. I also appreciated that they didn't blink twice when I came in with four people in my party. They were incredibly accommodating and helpful. Thanks again, Emerald City Gowns! I will definitely be recommending you in the future.

    Customer since November 2013

  • 5

    Best wedding gown shop in the bay area!

    Emily was AMAZING! Her sweet & calm nature along with her great knowledge truly made a difference. I brought my sister & mother along and although we arrived 30 min earlier than my apt, Emily warmly welcomed us in. I loved the fact that I was the only Bride in the store. It truly felt like all the attention was on me. This was the first stop on the very first day of what I thought would be a very long journey.... little did I know I would find THE dress here! Thank you Emily!! ☺

    Customer since October 2013

  • 5

    Found my dress here!

    Emilie was so helpful... And I felt she knew what fit me as well as my style. We tried on a lot of dresses. No pressure, Emilie is super-knowledgeable and sweet. I got really lucky and found my dress here! I love it and it is exactly what I was looking for (at an amazing price too) that I could not find in any of the boutiques I had previously searched. So glad my mom found this amazing place!

    Customer since October 2013

  • 5

    I'm a changed woman

    I came into ECG a skeptic about wedding dresses-but the FIRST dress Emilie put me in was AMAZING. Thank you!

    Customer since September 2013

  • 5

    Love the service

    Even though I ended up finding the perfect dress at another shop, Emerald City was the very first place I visited and it set the tone for my shopping day. I felt beautiful, supported, and really excited about my wedding day. The service here is so personal and catered to individual needs. I hope to return here to accessorize my gown and support this amazing business.

    Customer since October 2013

  • 4

    Can get a great deal here!

    Good experience! While the nature of a consignment store limits the inventory, I still found two gorgeous gowns that fit great and were in my price range. I am very petite, and was pleased to find quite a few dresses in my size; I also saw that I could get an especially good deal on a gown, being a size 2. Emilie was nice and had a great eye for accessorizing the gowns. The only negative for me, besides a slightly limited selection, was the lack of parking. I may be back to purchase!

    Customer since October 2013

  • 5

    Cute Boutique

    Emily is very sweet and helpful. I appreciated her honesty with me and other customers who where the at the same time. I would recommend friends and family to check her shop out. Thanks, Emily!

    Customer since October 2013

  • 5

    Cute spot

    I had a great experience at this cute boutique in Berkeley and although I did not find my dress I did find a beautiful vail. The service is great and has a nice selection.

    Customer since September 2013

  • 5

    Wonderful all around!!

    GREAT EXPERIENCE!! She was great help, even with 2 appts going on at the same time (never had to fight for her attention) and the other bride to be was so nice too (Emilie specifically mentioned that we were so nice to each other......lol). She has a great selection and location, organized by size, wasn't hot or stuffy at all (store is on 2nd floor), clean bathroom, comfy seats, no complaints at all!

    Customer since October 2013

  • 5

    Fabulous Consignment Store

    Emilie was the epitome of grace and her dog Banjo welcomed me with open paws. She managed customers and appointments professionally and didn't wait long when she reviewed my gown. I really hope my La Sposa Loira Gown (size 14) sells and look forward to keeping in touch with the boutique.

    Customer since October 2013

  • 5

    Elegant Shop with Exemplary and Courteous Customer Service

    Emilie and Rachel are very experienced. The shop is inviting and exceptionally stocked. I’d looked at used gowns and none were in as wonderful condition as Emilie's. She’s gifted at selecting gowns for each body type, and the right dress for the setting. I work in environmental enforcement and was excited my dress was made locally from fair trade fabrics. Emilie performed a miracle in helping me purchase an important accessory and I’m eternally grateful for her grace and savviness throughout.

    Customer since September 2013

  • 5

    LOVE Emilie and her shop

    Knew (bridal intuition and all) I would find my gown but didn't know how much I would adore Emilie! She is a joy to work and she truly loves everything about weddings..... run don't walk to her shop....

    Customer since October 2013

  • 5

    Wonderful Experience

    I had such a lovely experience at Emerald City Gowns. Emilie picked 4 or 5 dresses from a beautiful selection of dresses and the last one I tried on was perfect. It was so easy and so fun. Not to mention I got an amazing steal price on the gown, and I got to walk out of the store with it! Thank you Emilie!!

    Customer since September 2013

  • 5

    my wedding gown

    I worried that there would not be anything for me as I am an older bride. Emilie pick out a nice selection but the first one was a stunner! I was in and out of the shop in about 30 minutes and the gown is perfect. She even supplies the alteration information. Such a positive experience.

    Customer since September 2013

  • 5

    Great shop!

    Emilie had a great eye for what worked for me (which was sometimes different from what I thought I wanted). Very professional and great selection. I would highly recommend Emerald City.

    Customer since September 2013

  • 5

    Wonderful selection and experience

    I had a wonderful experience at Emerald City Gowns! The selection was fabulous. Emile was fun and so helpful with picking out styles and making suggestions. The other thing that I was really happy about was the preview of dresses online. I had made list of dresses that looked interesting and they were actually in the store, so that online viewing is up to date with what is actually on offer. I bought the dress and couldn't be happier!

    Customer since August 2013

  • 5

    Found my dress!

    Emilie was great and helped me find just the right dress for my wedding! I went in looking for a shorter dress on a small budget, and she found just what I was looking for, and it fit me just right! She even threw in the add-ons I needed like straps to sew on to the dress. Can't wait to wear it in a few weeks!

    Customer since August 2013

  • 5

    Got my reception dress!

    Emilie was very helpful and I was surprised at the number of short gowns to try on. There were gorgeous accessories too. I am happy with my lovely reception dress!

    Customer since August 2013

  • 5

    Great staff and selection

    When I walked into the shop, I was greeted by Rachel who immediately made me feel comfortable & was so helpful throughout the whole process. I found the dress I wanted immediately but went through the process of trying on a half dozen more just to be sure. With the help of Rachel, I was out the door with my wedding gown in 30 min. without feeling rushed and never once feeling a regret about my purchase. Thank you so much for making my shopping experience so enjoyable!

    Customer since April 2013

  • 5

    Great experience!

    Emilie is so helpful and accommodating. They have an EXCELLENT selection of dresses in many sizes and price ranges (got mine for less than $400 but they had others less than $200). Plus, there's a little adorable dog. Go there! You'll be glad you did.

    Customer since August 2013

  • 5

    What a gem!

    I've found this place a few months ago. I had exactly 5days to find my gown.Emilie was wonderful and only half an hour later I was strolling down the street with a dress I absolutely loved. Thank you!! Such a wonderful experience.Few month later I was back to give my dress for consignment. Sad to let go, but my closet desperately needed the space this gown was taking. It was absolute pleasure to work with Emilie again. If I'll ever need a gown again, I sure will be back:)

    Customer since December 2012

  • 5

    Fabulous!

    I had a wonderful experience. Went in on a Friday afternoon, Emilie, the owner was relaxed, easy going, & extremely helpful. She listened to my preferences, including style and budget, and brought many dresses, a few of which I would have never tried myself and ended up loving! Would highly recommend.

    Customer since July 2013

  • 5

    large selection, great service

    I tried on all the dresses I wanted and there were many to choose from. The staff were very attentive, made suggestions and let me take pictures.

    Customer since July 2013

  • 5

    Wonderful dress collection/great prices

    Emerald City gowns is amazing. Emilie knows SO much about dresses and what looks good on any kind of body. She has an impressive selection of dresses and bridal accessories that you do not want to miss!! I would highly recommend taking a look at Emerald City's collection if you are in the market for a dress!

    Customer since July 2013

  • 5

    very helpful

    They were very patient and helpful. Excellent customer service. They had a good selection of gowns and they only brought out gowns that is within my budget.

    Customer since July 2013

  • 5

    Great option for wedding gown on a budget!

    They helped me narrow down my options quickly, suggesting only a few gowns I should bother trying - I have limited budget and limited options for dresses that will look good due to large bust and short stature. I appreciated not wasting time i don't have trying on things that wouldn't work for me or being urged to spend more.

    Customer since June 2013

  • 5

    Fantastic service and gorgeous dresses!

    The shop owner knows her business and is fantastic to work with. Incredibly patient with brides to be and their entourages. She carries a great variety of dresses to fit different tastes, all very fairly priced for sellers and buyers. I would recommend Emerald City Gowns in a heartbeat!

    Customer since May 2013

  • 5

    This place is amazing!

    I had a wonderful experience shopping here. There was a great selection in my size and I found a fabulous dress within my budget! Emilie provided great one on one attention and an overall fun time. She knows her stuff when it comes to gown quality and putting things together. The dress I purchased was not what I thought I was looking for...it was a million times better! I would highly recommend this shop to anyone looking for a great dress at a wonderful price.

    Customer since June 2013

  • 5

    Great Experience

    I had a wonderful no-pressure experience shopping here. Emilie was great to work with and had some really great ideas when we weren't sure about accessories. Her selection was good and I LOVE being able to support local business and be a green bride. Thank you!

    Customer since June 2013

  • 5

    Dream dress for less than half the price!

    I found my dream dress at the first bridal store I visited... only it was way out of my budget! When I visited Emilie, she knew there was someone trying to re-sell that dress and she hunt down the dress for me! It was even my size!!! So, needless is to say, I think Emilie is awesome! I did try other dresses, since she has a very nice selection, but my mind was set. If you are looking to save on your dress and have a sweet and attentive person work with you, visit Emerald City Gowns.

    Customer since October 2012

  • 5

    Definitely Include as Part of Your Search

    This was my first bridal appointment and has set the standard for the rest. Emilie has a wonderful selection of all types, sizes and prices. Having now gone to 2 other shops since, I now know the quality of what Emerald City Gowns carries as well as the service provided exceeds. Please include this gem in your gown search.

    Customer since May 2013

  • 5

    If I knew more brides, I would send them here

    Emilie and her shop were absolutley fantastic! Emilie is incredibly friendly and patient. Dress shopping for me was exciting and scary at the same time but she made me feel right at ease. Emerald City Gowns has a great selection of dresses and veils. I would recommend anyone dress shopping to stop here first. If I knew any brides to be, I would have them go to Emerald City Gowns as their first stop. Thank you for helping find my dream dress!

    Customer since May 2013

  • 5

    Never imagined selling my dress could be so easy!

    A few months after my wedding I made the decision to sell my wedding dress. After some research I found Emerald City Gowns. Booking an appointment was a breeze, Emilie was SO kind and discussed what factored into the worth of the dress. My dress sold quickly and I received my commission soon after. I'm so glad someone else will make more beautiful memories in my dress! I would highly recommend this shop-I only wish I had known about it when I was buying my dress :)

    Customer since January 2013

  • 5

    Amazing!

    I went to Emerald City Gowns after only 2 weeks of being engaged partly because I was so excited to be engaged. That morning when I woke up I realized that it was silly for me to buy a dress prior to having a wedding date, venue, etc. HOWEVER, when I went and met with Rachel, she was SO pleasant and so helpful and really shared so much knowledge and I was SO happy that I went. When I have my venue, date, etc., I will definitely be back for my dress!!

    Customer since April 2013

  • 4

    Great Customer Service

    From the moment I walked into Emerald City Gowns, Emilie was helpful and very attentive. Thank you Emilie!

    Customer since April 2013

  • 5

    Very helpful

    I went in alone, so I had no help from friends/family in figuring out what worked or didn't work for me. Emilie was very patient and helpful in finding something that fit my budget, taste and body type. Great Place & Great Experience.

    Customer since February 2013

  • 5

    wonderful experience!

    My mom and I had such a wonderful time shopping for dresses here! There was a great selection, and Emilie was really good at suggesting options we might not have thought of (but without being pushy). I ended up choosing one of the dresses she suggested, and am very happy about it. Emilie also had a good sense of what kinds of alterations were possible. I came away with a wonderful dress at a very good price, as well as a great experience!

    Customer since March 2013

  • 5

    Awesome!

    Great shop! Tons of dresses of all different styles and price ranges. Emily is super patient and helpful. Easy parking, too. Definitely recommend!

    Customer since March 2013

  • 5

    Wonderful service!

    Emerald City Gawn was the first store that I went for dress hunting, and I found the perfect one on that day! Emily and Rachel gave me great advice and insights. The dress was reasonable price and looks amazing on me even though I don't have a great figure:) I am very satisfied with my experience and the dress. Thank you, ladies!!

    Customer since January 2013

  • 5

    Worth checking out!

    Emerald City is a cute, clean shop and Emilie is very helpful! I'd limited my choice to one designer and a very specific dress style and I didn't fine "the one" during my visit, but Emilie gave me the direct Etsy link to the woman who is making all the hair accessories for me and my bridesmaids. Even if you're not looking for a consignment gown, I'd check it out- the dresses are like new and the service is very good.

    Customer since March 2013

  • 5

    Excellent!

    I loved Emerald City Gowns! I would recommend them to anyone looking for a consignment dress. The dresses were gorgeous, and in wonderful condition.

    Customer since March 2013

  • 5

    Friendly with great selection!

    Had a wonderful experience with Emilie! Would definitely recommend making this a place to check out in your fancy dress search!

    Customer since February 2013

  • 5

    Best dress experience

    Emilie was an absolute pleasure. My appointment gave me a two hour window where had the whole store to myself. And I got the perfect dress for under $1000

    Customer since January 2013

  • 5

    Rachel is awesome!

    I was really impressed by Emerald's dress selection. Rachel helped me try on dresses and she was amazing. She even pulled one for me that I looked over and it ended up being THE dress! I would highly recommend Rachel and ECG :)

    Customer since December 2012

  • 5

    Couldn't Be Happier

    Being a consignment shop, I was nervous the style, size, & price selections would be small but I was pleasantly surprised. Emilie gave me her full attention during my 1-hour appointment. Within my budget of around $600-800, I was able to find about 5-7 dresses to try on. No sales-y pressure. A truely wonderful experience and I ended up with my dream dress (The 1st one I tried on!)

    Customer since January 2013

  • 5

    Beautiful Gowns, Great Price!

    I love the idea of being a "green" bride. Emilie has a variety of silhouettes in an array of sizes, and several of them could have worked but the third gown she pulled was something I NEVER would have picked for myself and it was awesome. I had dreams about it that night, and went back a few days later. She let me try on a few more gowns for my mom and sister before buying that magical gown she'd suggested in the first place. Emilie has a great eye, and good taste-very helpful and patient.

    Customer since January 2013

  • 5

    Affordable Cute Place

    Emilie was really nice, and very patient with my indecisiveness. She has a pretty good inventory, and lots of pretty and unique dresses. She also had lots of advice about things that could be done with a gown. I really liked that she didn't try to pressure me about deciding.

    Customer since January 2013

  • 5

    Beautiful selection of Wedding Dresses

    I had an idea going in of what styles I wanted for my wedding dress but it soon changed when I saw all the dresses. Emilie has great knowledge about the dresses she carries. When trying on my selection of dresses she paired it with a nice veil to so I could see the whole look. I loved all the dresses she had & wished I could have taken them all! The dress I did say YES to is beautiful, in perfect condition and priced for an eco and budget conscious bride.Thank You Emilie!

    Customer since January 2013

  • 5

    Wonderful Place!!

    Emilie made it really easy for me to consign my wedding dress! I am so happy that she is taking care of everything. I also saw my dress photos on the internet on the same day that I dropped the dress off. Thank You Emilie you are the BEST!

    Customer since January 2013

  • 4

    Found my dress!

    Cute little shop with surprising number of options considering the small inventory. I found a beautiful, non-conventional dress that I love. Emily was encouraging and patient. It would've been nice to have a robe to put on between dresses, but other than that, it went smoothly.

    Customer since January 2013

  • 4

    Really affordable gowns

    They have amazing collection and very much affordable. Emily was really friendly and helpful, and patiently took me through many gowns. :)

    Customer since January 2013

  • 5

    Great Experience

    Rachel really helped me not only try on dresses that I wanted, but pulled other dresses based off my aesthetic. She was really helpful and nice to work with. Plus there was such a nice selection of dresses. I would definitely recommend Emerald City Gowns to any upcoming bride!

    Customer since December 2012

  • 5

    Just Perfect

    I went to Emerald City Gowns to try on wedding dresses for the very first time. Being that it was my first time I didn't expect to walk out with "the one," but I sure did! Emilie's assistant helped me pick out and try on dresses. She made me very comfortable, was not pushy, but was extremely helpful! It was a magical happy experience that I would recommend to any bride-to-be.

    Customer since December 2012

  • 5

    Best experience

    Emilie is fantastic and the selection is phenomenal! Really happy about my experience and looking forward to buying my dress from Emilie.

    Customer since December 2012

  • 5

    Great place!

    I am so happy that I have found Emerald City Gowns. Great selection, cute clean place and Emilie was a big help. I was in and out within half an hour, walking out with a beautiful dress that is much more than I hoped for to find (having a week for planning a wedding). Thank you so much!

    Customer since December 2012

  • 5

    Beautiful Selection of Wedding Dresses

    This was the first and only stop for me. I loved it! There was a wonderful selection, it was very clean, and welcoming! I was lucky enough to find two dresses that fit perfectly, Emily was a great help - as I could only pick one :) I highly recommend this little gem!

    Customer since December 2012

  • 5

    Wonderful shop!!

    This is a fantastic shop. I was very impressed with Emilie's selection and expertise, and she has a great eye for what may suit!

    Customer since December 2012

  • 5

    What a lovely experience!

    The first gown tryin on experience that made me feel like a bride. The owner was patient and clearly loves what she does. I did not purchase a gown but plan to go back as she gets in more gowns in my size. I have already recommended the place to a girlfriend who is also getting married, and wish I had known about it when I took my sister to find her wedding gown. Highly recommend!

    Customer since December 2012

  • 4

    Great Service

    I visited the shop with only a vague idea of what I want in a dress. They had a wide selection, and Rachel was very helpful. Even though I didn't find "the one" on that particular day, I will follow their activity on Pinterest to watch for new dresses.

    Customer since November 2012

  • 5

    Fantastic Experience!

    I really loved Emilie's new shop! I had never been bridal dress shopping before and still don't really know what I'm doing. I'm definitely not your typical bride. Emilie made me feel so comfortable, immediately selecting dresses that were "me". She has a wide selection of dresses and there were several that I loved and that fit me. I'm so thrilled to have found her shop and hope to have her sell my dress again after my big day. :)

    Customer since November 2012

  • 5

    Amazing shop!

    I absolutely loved Emerald City Gowns and Emilie. I had a large group with me but Emilie took it all in stride and was so friendly. Her shop is just lovely, and she has so many gorgeous dresses. Emilie pulled some really beautiful dresses for me. I felt so comfortable with her, it was a wonderful experience. Best of all I found THE DRESS! I could not be happier. Go to Emerald City Gowns - you will not be disappointed!

    Customer since August 2012

  • 5

    Go here first

    After hitting Davids Bridal and The Wedding Party, my 2-month-away wedding wasn't having any of those places. Em's gowns were the first FUN, ROMANTIC, WHIMSICAL, and MAGICAL (not to mention affordable) gowns I'd seen. I felt like a glass of champagne personified. She has something for everyone - I tried on more traditional gowns, too. She's about to move to 4th St., where I wish her well. Her shop on San Pablo is/was charming.

    Customer since October 2012

  • 5

    Beautiful dresses and service

    After going to place after place and getting stressed out that with only 4 months to my wedding and that I was an "emergency", shopping at Emerald City was such a relief. It was awesome to try on so many gowns that actually fit and would need little alterations. Emilie is AWESOME, she's so helpful and if the selection is great. I didn't end up getting my gown as but I did refer her to all of my friends! This should be anyone's first stop shopping for a dress.

    Customer since October 2012

  • 5

    Excellent Service, Best Deals Around

    Emilie of Emerald City Gowns couldn't be more helpful or more enthusiastic about helping brides find their dream gowns for a great price. Her selection is excellent. If you find the right dress here you will definitely get a lot gown for your green.

    Customer since October 2012

  • 5

    Great selection, friendly service

    Emerald City Gowns is a treasure trove of previously loved gowns for the bride on a budget. I found my wedding gown here, love it, and couldn't be more pleased with the price I payed. It was very easy to book an appt online, and Emilie was so friendly and helpful in person and on the phone. I highly recommend this shop to any recycle-minded bride!

    Customer since July 2012

  • 5

    I LOVE this store!

    Emerald City Gowns is AMAZING! I just purchased my gown from them on Saturday and could not have been more impressed by the owner, selection, and service! I got a $1,700 for $600 - Emelie was great - she pulled the perfect gowns for me to try - the appointment was great because it's just you and she in the store - I could not recommend this place more highly!

    Customer since August 2012

  • 5

    Amazing salon

    I cannot say enough amazing things about this salon. Especially for green brides who are looking for upcycled (and GORGEOUS) wedding attire. Emilie is everything you want in service. She's happy, she's a problem solver, and she certainly is engaged with YOU and what YOU want, not rushing to make any sales. The entire experience there was relaxed, fun and just all around enjoyable. I DID get my dress from here and it is perfect :) Thank you Emilie!

    Customer since August 2012

  • 5

    Great store and one-on-one service

    The one-on-one service and attention given to each bride makes this bridal shop special and one of a kind. Emily is patient and not pushy. I found my wedding dress at Emerald, but it was not my size so I had to get it somewhere else. Thank you Emily for your for helping me find my dream dress after months of looking!!! :-)

    Customer since August 2012

  • 5

    Wonderful store! Wonderful owner!

    The store is very well curated! I just needed a veil, and Emily had exactly the perfect, perfect one for me! All the dresses were beautiful, and Emily was a great resource on how to wear my dress and accessories. Patient, kind, focused, and non-judgmental. Lovely experience!

    Customer since July 2012

  • 5

    awesome wedding resource

    I loved loved loved my time spent trying on dresses at Emerald City! She was fabulous - picking out dresses I wouldn't have - and then they became my favorites! I love the idea of consignment too : ) Have a great time there!

    Customer since June 2012

  • 5

    Beautiful Dresses and Great Service!

    I'm glad I found out about Emerald CIty Gowns through Yelp!. Emilie recently helped me shop for a wedding dress. Everything I tried on was in great shape! She had a variety of styles and at great prices. Although I didn't choose my dress from her store, I will definitely refer her to other brides I know. Scheduling appointments online was a breeze. I was able to do so confidantly and you can do so during off hours.

    Customer since July 2012

  • 5

    Excellent service and wonderful selection

    This place is a diamond in the rough. There are a wide selection of different types of dresses that are fairly affordable. I've been a to a few consignment stores around the area, and this was one of the better ones I found in terms of quality and selection. The dresses are well-kept. Rachel was very helpful and friendly when helping me try on dresses.

    Customer since July 2012

  • 5

    Great shopping experience!

    A good girlfriend is getting married and I was really excited to find Emilie and Emerald City through Yelp. We had a really great time at the store - lots of great dress options for a variety of budgets! My friend walked out with one dress that was such a great deal that she will probably get another. Definitely worth a visit! (Big thumbs up for easy online scheduling for appointments!)

    Customer since June 2012

  • 5

    found the perfect white gown

    Thank you! I'm so happy I was able to find just the right gown on my first visit. I was looking for a ball gown in pure white and I found the perfect one!

    Customer since June 2012

  • 5

    Thank you!

    Thank you so much, Emilie! You were such a great help and your store was a really pleasant find. Even though I couldn't make up my mind, I will definitely be in again with some friends to help me in my indecisiveness. Thanks for your help and your honest opinion.

    Customer since May 2012

  • 5

    Great business model and service

    Emerald City was my first stop, looking for a pre-owned wedding dress. Emilie has a great business model and is a really pleasant woman. I found an amazing dress (her first pick) that has not yet been surpassed by another. A gorgeous, custom Jenny Lee. Even used, this dress was at top of my budget, but would be a steal for someone with more cash on hand than myself. I highly recommend this shop.

    Customer since May 2012

  • 5

    Great help

    Emilie listens well, doesn't try to upsell, and gives honest feedback. She's great! There's a good selection of lots of different styles and price ranges.

    Customer since May 2012

  • 5

    Found my dress at Emerald City!

    I was looking for a beautiful but affordable wedding dress and was feeling discouraged by the limited selection of dresses in my price range, but that all changed when I got to Emerald City Gowns. From the first dress I tried on (which I loved and was only $450) I knew Emerald City was where I'd find my dress. Emilie was so sweet and helpful and patient. I left my very first appointment with her with both my dress and veil in hand - and stayed under budget! I highly recommend Emerald City Gowns!

    Customer since April 2012

  • 5

    wonderful shop

    I had a great experience. Emilie was very helpful and friendly. There was a nice selection of dresses at incredibly reasonable prices.

    Customer since April 2012

  • 5

    A Hidden Jewel

    Although I did not find my wedding dress here, Emerald City Gowns had many beautiful gowns at shockingly great prices. I would suggest checking this place out to anyone!

    Customer since March 2012

  • 5

    Thank goodness for Emilie!

    I had a great shopping experience with Emilie Hofmann at Emerald City Gowns. She is very friendly and helpful. I've been to other bridal shops where I felt very uncomfortable, and that was not the case at all here. Emilie has a lot of gorgeous, high-quality dresses in different styles at great prices. The first dress that she brought to me ended up being the one I bought, and I could not be happier with the purchase! Thanks again, Emilie!

    Customer since April 2012

  • 5

    Low key and beautiful dresses...

    Ladies, Emilie has beautiful gowns and has a low key professional attitude. She doesn't try and BFF you to push a sale. Most affordable in the Bay and a much easier way to find a dress than the used wedding dress sites that leave you guessing on the fit.

    Customer since March 2012

  • 5

    A total gem!

    This place is great--lots of affordable, high end gowns that are in good condition. Emilie is great to work with--friendly and easy going. Only one appointment at a time, so you have the whole store to yourself! I'll probably end up getting my dress here, but whether I do or not, it's a great place off the beaten path!

    Customer since February 2012

  • 5

    Emilie is great

    First of all, it was nice to find this shop, it's such a terrific idea, I wish it was around when I had to buy my wedding gown. I came here to sell my dress and Emilie is a very nice person and I wish her nothing but the best. I think it's a terrific idea and she has beautiful gowns there for women looking for something special on their special day

    Customer since March 2012

  • 5

    Great selection of inexpensive gowns and dresses

    I was looking for a very specific style. Knowing I live an hour away, Emilie called me in advance of my appointment to talk me through the various options to make sure it was worth my time to make the trip out. It was very worth my time as the first dress Emilie pulled ended up being the one! It's in perfect condition and priced for an eco and budget conscious bride.

    Customer since February 2012

  • 4

    Great experience!

    I worked with Emilie Hofmann and I had a very pleasant experience shopping for wedding gowns. Before my appointment, Emilie sent an email giving advice about parking and what I should bring in preparation for trying on dresses. When my sister (maid of honor) and I got to the store, there were many dresses in my size. Emilie was very friendly and helpful. I would recommend this shop to other women who are shopping for their wedding dress.

    Customer since January 2012

Business Information

Hours Tue11:00am - 6:00pm
Wed11:00am - 6:00pm
Thu11:00am - 6:00pm
Fri11:00am - 6:00pm
Sat10:00am - 6:00pm
Sun10:00am - 5:00pm
Phone (510) 725-7771
Location Get directions
Website Company website