Genbook verified user seal

These reviews are from verified customers of this business.
Customer names have been suppressed to protect customer privacy.

VERIFIED CUSTOMER REVIEWS
Customer names have been suppressed to protect customer privacy.
  • 5

    11/20/15, 4pm, Financial Literacy consult

    Needed help understanding changes to Medicare & supplemental insurance, before the 12/7 deadline. My consultant was outstanding in her knowledge and ability to focus me productively. She went out of her way to get me the best info, including a long conversation with Medicare itself for results directly applicable to my situation. I'll be back for more. Thank you.

    Customer since November 2015

  • 5

    Medicare Advisor

    I spoke with Mary Jamison about Medicare. It is such a complicated issue with many choices to be made. Mary knows her stuff. She asked me to submit my basic questions ahead of time and showed up with the answers. I have told my friends about this service and they will be calling for their own appointments. Thank you Mary and thank you NYPL for providing such a great service. Now lets work on reforming this system that seems to be designed to keep people from collecting benefits.

    Customer since October 2015

  • 5

    Financial counseling

    Ted was very informative and knowledgeable. His input and insight was very much appreciated and helpful to me. Thank you for offering these services.

    Customer since September 2015

  • 3

    a suggestion

    Our first experience, last year, was excellent. The counselor was knowledgeable and helpful. Recently, for a second visit, we were called the day of the appointment which had been arranged one week prior and told no counselors would be in that evening. And that on Saturdays, though listed as a choice, generally no counselors are available. It’s a very good and useful service. It would be improved by having slots that in fact can accommodate those unable to come in the middle of a work day.

    Customer since November 2014

  • 5

    An invaluable resource

    An invaluable resource for the New York community. I wish I had known about it long ago. I spoke to a financial advisor who was both knowledgeable and kind. He listened to and took into account my specific situation as we discussed options. He was patient with my lack of knowledge. I recommend seeing what this space has to offer.

    Customer since October 2015

  • 5

    Very helpful

    My experience was very good, my counselor broke my problem down into simple concepts. Would recommend to others.

    Customer since October 2015

  • 4

    Helpful

    The advisor was helpful. I'll be back next time. I only wish I had more questions with me to ask. But my question was answered clearly and that helped a lot.

    Customer since September 2015

  • 5

    Finance

    As some of the other reviewers said, I am very thankful for the opportunity to speak to a professional adviser and to get helpful guidance and information. The session was short, so somewhat limited.An extra 15 minutes might make a difference.

    Customer since August 2015

  • 5

    Very helpful

    I recently met and had a very informative session with Ms. Anthea Perkinson. I really appreciate and am grateful for this service to me and the community.

    Customer since September 2015

  • 5

    Great advice

    I came in to see a financial counselor with my fiance and it was a wonderful experience. She walked us through our budget, then our retirement plans, and gave us tons of tips along the way. I would highlight recommend using this service to any engaged couple or newlyweds...

    Customer since August 2015

  • 5

    Very Nice

    My counselor Stephen Poppel was a good listener and gave me his advice in a straightforward, considerate manner.

    Customer since July 2015

  • 4

    Financial Counseling

    The counselor was very professional and informative.This was a very helpful session, but it was too short. I need to schedule a follow-up session.

    Customer since July 2015

  • 5

    Financial Counselling

    A practical and helpful session that helped give me a more balanced view of my financial situation, what I'm doing right now, and what future actions I might consider. My counselor, Stephen Poppel, was professionally friendly and practical, encouraging, and informative. I would certainly return for a follow-up session. Thank you.

    Customer since June 2015

  • 5

    Very helpful

    The financial advisor was very helpful in providing general information about IRAs as well as how to get specific information about funds. She was very good at "meeting me at my level" and explained things with a minimum of jargon. Definitely a good experience.

    Customer since December 2014

  • 4

    Solid advice

    I have very odd income sources and am looking to invest for the first time as an adult. My advisor gave me solid clear advice and broke it down to make sense to me. I also was able to confide in him some of my unusual circumstances and he gave me good advice without judgement. He also helped me sort through all the information so I know exactly what my next step is. We are so lucky to have this service available to us as New Yorkers!

    Customer since June 2015

  • 5

    Budgeting

    It was excellent. I really recommend using one of the financial counselors. They are excellent. They are so helpful and knowledgeable.

    Customer since May 2015

  • 4

    HICCAP

    I had a consultation with Eleanor about Medicare Part D insurance. The information and insights she provided enabled me to make a good decision.

    Customer since December 2011

  • 4

    Financial Literacy Consultant

    i had a hard time finding he loction for my appointment so i arrived late. The financial consutant was considerate and sympathetic. he was also very patient, He helped me to sort out what i needed to know and although he could not help me with my income tax question hs research steered me in the right direction to get some answers and printed out for me the special applications with instructions that I needed.

    Customer since May 2015

  • 2

    financial review

    It was not what I expected, it really was not a review of my finances which I hoped for. I did get some vague information, frankly It was not much of a review. maybe another person got better advice, If you don't live too far try it.

    Customer since April 2015

  • 5

    Founder/CEO

    My experience with SIBL Financial Advisor help me to update my business plan and talk more about my accounting experience.

    Customer since April 2015

  • 5

    financial literacy is a process

    I found it helpful just to talk to a well-informed, kind expert. My advisor discussed my financial situation in general terms. It's kind of like therapy -but financial therapy. We need to talk about our finances! This is the place for that.

    Customer since September 2014

  • 4

    okay

    Good for general advice. If you're looking to make a specific budget or credit card repayment plan, however, websites like mint.com are more useful. Our advisor did give us a helpful investment tip that I didn't find online so I'm glad we made the trip.

    Customer since March 2015

  • 5

    A good solid meeting

    Overall I came away with a clearer idea about my financial potential. The counselor was friendly and receptive.

    Customer since February 2015

  • 5

    NYPL provides a great public service with these

    I had questions about my employee stock options and this was a great start in learning more about them. My counselor gave me basic information and solid direction on where to look for more details. I appreciate her time, thoughtfulness and knowledge. The NYPL is providing a great public service with these Financial Literacy one-to-one free sessions.

    Customer since November 2010

  • 5

    Thanks!

    I appreciate this professional and free service! My adviser gave me some great ideas on how to manage my debt and deal with credit issues.

    Customer since February 2015

  • 5

    Ms.

    My consultation with the financial advisor was very helpful. He was knowledgeable about my concerns regarding retirement income provided me with resources for identifying a financial advisor on an ongoing basis.

    Customer since January 2015

  • 4

    Consultation with Mr. Wood

    Mr. Wood was very informative and knowledgeable. Although I consider myself more financially savvy than the average investor, I learned some new things during my consultation. Mr. Wood did not criticize the company where I hold my investments or try to solicit my business for himself. I did, however, get the feeling that he didn't want to be there.

    Customer since January 2015

  • 5

    many thanks!

    I confused my appointment time, but felt lucky that Dr. Poppel was able to see me and address all of my concerns in a thorough, helpful and gracious manner. This service is one of the best SIBL offerings. Thanks very much.

    Customer since July 2011

  • 4

    Good

    It was good and quick: answered my questions and gave suggestions that helped me; I come every year for free consultation!

    Customer since January 2011

  • 4

    Financial Consultant

    Very nice and knowledgeable. Easy to talk to but, unfortunately, not too helpful. I would suggest meeting for other people.

    Customer since November 2014

  • 5

    Fantastic

    The counselor was very supportive and helped answer all my questions. I would recommend it to anyone!

    Customer since February 2013

  • 4

    Knowledgeable, Personable

    Mr. Stephen Poppel was a pure joy to speak with. He answered most of my financial and career concerns with easy to understand metaphors that had me thinking and laughing. He truly made my afternoon.

    Customer since October 2014

  • 5

    Stephen Poppel

    Stephen was great and so helpful. He explained things very easily to me, and I felt like he gave me the tools to figure out my financial questions on my own, and with enough information, without doing the work for me.

    Customer since October 2014

  • 5

    Stephen Poppel

    It was a pleasure dealing with Mr. Stephen Poppel, Personal Finance advisor. He was very helpful and informative with our concerns and all our overall financial advise.

    Customer since October 2014

  • 5

    Really Helpful!

    I had no idea where to begin because I have no sense of financial literacy and planning whatsoever. The counselor read my statements and provided me with a plan to make my credit card and loan payments. He also recommended some books to provide me with a foundation for investing in a 401 K. He was very patient and I now feel I have some knowledge base and plan to go on.

    Customer since October 2014

  • 5

    Financial Literacy Consultation

    Wow! I walked in with questions and a bit of insecurity about discussing my financial matters with a stranger. I walked out with a personalized plan and strategies that I can implement, a greater knowledge of financial matters, a list of books to increase my knowledge (which I could check out of the library), and confidence. This sevice is a gem among the rubble of financial confusion. Again I say, "Wow!"

    Customer since October 2014

  • 5

    Excellent advisor

    Extremely helpful. Answered all my questions and provided further helpful advice. Very knowledgeable and professional. What a wonderful free resource for all.

    Customer since September 2014

  • 5

    financial advice

    my wife and myself had a meeting with mr poppell he was such a nice guy and really seemed concerned with our problems he gave us great financial advice i not only felt we were talking to a financial advisor it also felt like we were talking with a psychologist lol i would highly recommend

    Customer since August 2014

  • 1

    down

    No good experience at all.did not get to the point.I left meeting confused and frustrated. Next day I called other place and by phone I got good advise.

    Customer since September 2014

  • 1

    Evan

    Evan seemed uninterested in answering our very specific and limited questions, Instead, he remained adamant in attempting to persuade us of a need for comprehensive financial planning overhaul, which he practices. I would not recommend him to anyone.

    Customer since August 2014

  • 4

    Highly Suggest Trying This Service!

    Hi There, I think the Financial Counselor did a great job of being a good sounding board for me. He gave me some immediate and concrete actions I can put in place, ASAP. My only piece of advice is -- try to have a good sense of what your expenses/problem areas are BEFORE you go in for your appointment. I think that moves things along faster.

    Customer since July 2014

  • 5

    Financial Planning

    My SIBL advisor was absolutely great! He gave me lots to do about moving forward and even invited me to let him know how things were working out. I've had so much help from the NYPL library system! Thank you so much! FTH

    Customer since August 2014

  • 4

    Great

    Great meeting, just wish it could have been longer (hence the four stars.) Also, it was a bit difficult to figure out where in the library it was to be held, had to ask three employees. But this is a wonderful service.

    Customer since July 2014

  • 5

    I highly recommend this!

    My session with Stephen was so helpful! He talked me through my finances, budget, savings, and retirement plans. He was kind and understanding and answered all of my questions. I felt very empowered when I left. I highly recommend this FREE service!

    Customer since July 2014

  • 4

    Response to Steve's session

    I am fairly financially literate re the basics but it was helpful for clarifying certain points re traditional IRA choices.

    Customer since June 2014

  • 5

    Overview

    Very positive experience - the counselor addressed my concerns and pointed out new areas that I would need to address.

    Customer since June 2014

  • 2

    Insensitive Advisor

    While I wasn't expecting any miracles from this 30 minute session, I did expect guidance with a human touch. The advisor confirmed my conclusions and offered two options that would send my life into significant turmoil. He then seemed more concerned with me setting up a future gig for him rather than addressing my concerns. I understand that financial planning is a numbers game but they are attached to real people with real life circumstances; which I believe requires some sensitivity.

    Customer since June 2014

  • 5

    knowledge is power indeed

    All have to say, I learn so much and I am have more to learn.I'm indeed one-hundrendth percent plus happy. Thank you for the knowledge's; so much books, article's, materials can read get educate along with free help and free classes on what your looking for, there's also a one on one financial meeting anyone can schedule and meet with an adviser or someone who can financial guide you to the right direct... in conclusion please keep up the wonderful work all of you guide's are doing.

    Customer since June 2014

  • 2

    Good but not for everyone

    Counselor seemed eager to try to help, although I didn't get anything out of the session beyond what I'd already found online.

    Customer since June 2014

  • 4

    financial counselor

    The planner was nice, and shared info in response to my questions. It's good if you come prepared with statements/paperwork (which I neglected to do) as well as specific questions. Since the 30mins. will fly by pretty quickly, it would be nice to have an hour long session. Overall, it's a good start to getting a financial person in your life, so since it's free, I'd encourage others to give it a try.

    Customer since June 2014

  • 4

    Very Informative Meeting.

    The financial adviser that I met was very knowledgeable. She focused on the key points of my financial concern and provided me with adequat solutions. Thank you.

    Customer since September 2012

  • 5

    awesome meeting, very focused.

    really great topline overview while focusing on my key questions. A very good meeting with an unbiased advisor.

    Customer since April 2014

  • 5

    Excellent

    Very informative. Pretty objective- the adviser did not push for his company. Great start into taking charge of ones finances.

    Customer since April 2014

  • 1

    Retirement

    I got little out of my session. The consultant really only confirmed what I knew already and what I have laid out as my goals for this year. There was little assessment of the contributions in my 401K. I was encouraged to keep allocating money for my retirement. Overall it was okay as an affirmation.

    Customer since April 2014

  • 4

    Financial advisment

    Great advisment!!! Any question related to finance or how to save, invest, or do with your money was answered to the best of their knowledge. Meeting was short yet very informative.

    Customer since April 2014

  • 4

    Very Good

    I had a good listener to my problem and that helped me a lot emotionally. I am grateful that I saw Steven Poppel. Eugenia Renskoff

    Customer since April 2014

  • 5

    Financial Advis with Financial Counselor

    Great job! It was good to talk with a financial counselor about the different options for retirement. He was very knowledgeable and patient at explaining investment options. I just wish it was longer! 1/2 hour is on the short side. nypl has good resources and glad that they offer this service. be sure to go prepared with questions, as that will help the session flow.

    Customer since April 2014

  • 5

    Excellent Service

    Thank you for an excellent counseling session with Stephen Poppel. I appreciate his sound counseling, and genuine interest and concern. Much appreciation to him and the NYPL. I would recommend this service to others.

    Customer since March 2014

  • 4

    Taking control of finances with guidance

    This is a nice service. I felt very comfortable in asking the most basic questions. I felt confident in my financial counselor's ability to guide me as I slowly take control of our family's finances.

    Customer since January 2014

  • 5

    Very helpful

    I was very happy to discover that SIBL offered this service, and my experience exceeded my expectations. The counselor was very friendly, and was able to give a lot of useful information, and to recommend specific advice after looking over my finances and listening to my goals. To get the most out of it, I would strongly recommend having some figures at hand about your finances and to have some idea of what your near and short term goals are.

    Customer since February 2014

  • 4

    I appreciate the effort!

    I met w/ one of the advisors on Thursday afternoon. Thank you for having late hours! While I am apparently the classic definition of the middle class, and there wasn't much to be done, I appreciate the attention and effort of the financial advisor who saw me. Will be recommending others!

    Customer since December 2013

  • 1

    no one there

    I arrived for the appointment at 1.05 and no one was there. No one on staff could help solve the mystery so I departed.

    Customer since January 2014

  • 1

    consultation

    I was very disappointed with this meeting. The counselor was sparse in his recommendation, and more interested in gaining me as a client (I also received follow-up emails.)

    Customer since February 2012

  • 3

    Financial Literacy

    Great Job, Very informative and helpful! Good to have late hours to come after work. The business person is knowledgeable.

    Customer since October 2013

  • 5

    Fabulous service

    The NYPL continues to inspire me with the comprehensive and free services it provides to the citizens of NY. This financial literacy counseling session was very helpful and I'd recommend it to anyone who could use a little fiscal guidance.

    Customer since October 2013

  • 5

    Wonderful Financial Advice

    I am very thankful for this counseling service. My questions were answered kindly and succinctly. Now, I feel more knowledgeable, more confident, and ready to make my own decision. Ted, thank you for your help!

    Customer since October 2013

  • 5

    great counseling

    This counseling is great for everyone who is finance trouble and has no way out. He is savvy in finance and beyond it. You will never leave the library without getting insight and specific solution. Many thaks to Ted.

    Customer since November 2010

  • 5

    Value of a financial advisor

    Excellent discussion of pros and cons of recently hired financial advisor. Recommended follow-up in 6 months.

    Customer since March 2013

  • 4

    Savings for the long haul

    Really enjoyed meeting Ted. Thank you for the information, business referral and just a pleasant experience. Will return.

    Customer since October 2013

  • 5

    Financial Literacy assistance

    I met with Stephen Poppel; Mr. Poppel was extremely helpful -- he offered many good ideas for managing money when under-employed! (Also, he's a very nice person)

    Customer since July 2012

  • 5

    Financial Counseling

    Very courteous and knowledgeable. Gave good sound financial advice which helped me in my next steps. Made himself available if additional support is needed.

    Customer since August 2012

  • 5

    Financial Planning

    2nd annual visit; counselor was helpful in in reviewing pension plans and provided recommendations for other financial vehicles

    Customer since August 2013

  • 3

    financial planning

    Helpful in thinking about the big picture. I was hoping for specifics but this was useful and I would use this service again. Thank you

    Customer since August 2013

  • 4

    Theodore Wood

    He was easy to talk to and approachable. Luckily he knew more about what I needed done than other advisors that I have spoken too.

    Customer since November 2010

  • 5

    Knowledgeable and helpful

    The session was exactly what I needed. Sound advice, useful information, and expertise. A true advisor. Thank you!

    Customer since July 2013

  • 5

    Financial Advisor session

    Far surpassed my expectations. Our financial counselor was generous, and very helpful. We left feeling hopeful and with a list of actions we could take. We've made a follow up appt for one month from now.

    Customer since August 2012

  • 1

    Trusts

    It was a complete and utter waste of my time. A suggestion: Have people submit their topics of concern prior to going for an appointment.

    Customer since June 2013

  • 5

    Very helpful!

    Sound, non-partial advice for free. It's really worth checking out if you feel a little lost when it comes to financial planning.

    Customer since May 2013

  • 5

    Financial Counseling

    The counselor I met with was affable, showed understanding, had a sense of humor and a patient way of explaining processes, whether IRA or stocks in general. One enhancement might be a print-out bibliography of "finance for idiots" kinds of resources, books or websites, for us to take away.

    Customer since May 2013

  • 5

    Great service

    This is a wonderful service available for free at the New York Public Library. It was very helpful to meet with someone who could point me in the right direction. I recommend coming prepared with a specific question or two to focus your time.

    Customer since April 2013

  • 5

    Financial Counselling

    I met with Steve Poppel to talk about problems I was having with my investment advisor. He helped me examine the problem from a variety of perspectives, and reach a decision about what to do next. His services were invaluable.

    Customer since April 2013

  • 3

    credit counseling

    helpful to talk to someone if only to vent frustration. Counselor gave some sound suggestions; seemed caring and concerned. He also offerred his contact information for follow-up which felt supportive.

    Customer since March 2013

  • 5

    Investing in Precious Metals

    I had an excellent session with a knowledgeable advisor. I think the reason it was useful to me is that I limited the discussion to a very specific subject. He not only gave me information, but also provided suggestions for further research. I look forward to attending some of your group sessions.

    Customer since March 2013

  • 5

    Very understanding and helpful

    I found the counselor who worked with me to be very understanding, open and sharing. He provided helpful ideas on how to manage my expenses, deal with taxes, etc. He was really present there and willing to listen and give feedback. Thank you!

    Customer since February 2013

  • 5

    Extremely Helpful

    The advice offered at Financial Literacy Central was extremely helpful. The knowledgeable counselor assisted in finding a balance between managing monthly living expenses, building emergency and retirement savings, and repaying student loan debt. With the plan described I feel confident in the stability of my financial future. Thank you for providing this service.

    Customer since February 2013

  • 5

    Great Service

    I was surprised this service was offered for free. The person who helped me was very kind and understood my needs. He spent longer than the allotted time with me. Although I already knew a lot of what he told me, I'd recommend this to anyone in need of financial advice.

    Customer since February 2013

  • 5

    Very informative and personal

    My adviser was so knowledgeable, honest and was a great listener to my needs and questions. His expertise was priceless. It is a service I personally could not currently afford on my own. I'm very thankful to the SIBL/NYPL

    Customer since February 2013

  • 4

    Amazing help

    Visiting the Financial Literacy Central equipped me with much needed help towards understanding my student loan debts and the best way to repay them. The financial counselor was affable, sympathetic and gave me numerous resources to continue making better financial choices in the future. I am very grateful for this service.

    Customer since January 2013

  • 4

    Question: How do I start investing?

    I really appreciate this service offered by the library and the Financial Planning Association. I'd like to start investing, the little bit of spare change I have each week. But where o where do I begin? So much information out there. Whew! 30 minutes flew by, wasn't enough time for all my questions but definitely got good information that seems pretty balanced and to be pointing me in a solid direction

    Customer since October 2012

  • 5

    Fin Lit Apptq

    Very helpful. Exactly what I was looking for. I needed help deciding how to start an IRA and 401K and got just what I needed..

    Customer since November 2012

  • 4

    financial advice

    Thank you for answer my financial questions in a way I could understand. Thank you for doing what we all should be doing, giving back to our community to make it better, Thank to the Mayor for keeping our libreries available.

    Customer since August 2011

  • 5

    Excellent service

    I highly recommend this service - I brought a long list of things to ask and had all of my questions answered thoroughly; I received very good advice from a wonderful young professional for free. I am very grateful that this excellent financial advising service is provided at us at no cost. I plan on using it again and recommending it to others! Thank you!

    Customer since December 2012

  • 5

    Free Financial Advice

    I was extremely pleased with the free session I had with Theodore Woods of Wells Fargo Advisors. He went above and beyond what I expected and took more of his time than was expected. This is truly a great service to people needing financial guidance. Thank you again Mr. Woods and NYPL for making this service available!

    Customer since November 2012

  • 5

    investment advice

    The counselors are from professional companies! They are so patient. You can bring bank or investment statement. They can review and give advice. Thank you very much!

    Customer since November 2012

  • 3

    Very Helpful

    30 minutes is a short time, so come prepared with one or two questions like I did and you will not be disappointed!

    Customer since October 2012

  • 1

    retirement

    I was very disappointed. I did not learn anything new from the meeting. He's not knowledgeable on the retirement topic.

    Customer since October 2012

  • 4

    Good advice with explainations

    I appreciate the advice. Makes sense. Come prepared with questions. I think I'll make an appointment to go again.

    Customer since August 2012

  • 5

    Professional and Helpful

    The financial consultant was extremely polite, friendly, responsive to my specific situation. He gave general, realistic advice. I appreciate this service.

    Customer since August 2012

  • 4

    Review of financial instruments to manage assets.

    Broad, informative coverage of topic. Helpful and personable in explaining instruments. Valuable asset to community.

    Customer since November 2010

  • 4

    Investment Advice

    This is a great service to the community. The counselor was personable, knowledage and gave good advice. The information he gave was invaluable. My retirement planning got a good start. It's good to know this counseling service is accessible at our neighborhood library! I have already recommended this service to several friends. Thank you!

    Customer since August 2012

  • 2

    Investment Advice

    Not bad - though too short of time session to discuss further - need to have at least 1 hour to get the best advice possible.

    Customer since July 2012

  • 5

    Great!

    No judgment and no pressure; just professional advice and guidance in a welcoming, comfortable environment.

    Customer since August 2012

  • 5

    Helpful guildelines

    I received good suggestions on how to generally understand and plan finances. The adviser was very clear, patient, and attentive. Thank you NYPL for this wonderful service!

    Customer since July 2012

  • 4

    Great and realistic advice

    Great budgeting advice about realistic goals and expectations. Had some misguided notions about money. Will comeback!

    Customer since July 2012

  • 5

    Retirement Advice

    I met with my advisor. He explained what options were available for me. I really appreciate his help.

    Customer since July 2012

  • 2

    Disappointed

    This is a great service when done right, but I don't think I got the best results from my session with Eugene, though he tried to help. I was unhappy signing the Letter of Engagement without having time to read it. Could you include a copy with the email confirming the appointment? I suggest making sessions an hour; a 1/2-hour is too short. Maybe I needed someone more experienced. I'm not sure I got appropriate advice for my main issue. Still, thank you for providing this opportunity.

    Customer since June 2012

  • 3

    Investment advice

    Thanks for providing this service to the community. It makes me appreciate my membership even more.

    Customer since April 2012

  • 4

    On the right track

    This is a fantastic service offered to New Yorkers and the information I received during the meeting was priceless. My advisor was happy to help, answered all of my questions and reassured me that I had taken the correct steps in planning for my retirement. I will recommend this to everyone I know!!

    Customer since April 2012

  • 5

    exelent

    The counsellor was so kind enough to make time even before the schedule so that I could ask all the questions. This time I brought some academic and complicated issues and I left without any unsloved problem. As a foreigner I speak like a 5 years old but he was a good listner. He did his best to understand my questions and make his point as clear as possible so I can get a grip on the issues.

    Customer since November 2010

  • 4

    Financial Advisor at NYPL

    I met with Stephen Poppel, CFA for advise on better understanding financial planning-investing. He was patience and detail, i am grateful for his easy to follow of investing. thank you

    Customer since April 2012

  • 5

    Great Career/Financial Advice

    My meeting was great! Not only did I receive enlightening financial advice, I was able to ask questions about starting a career in financial advising. I will definitely use this service again.

    Customer since March 2012

  • 4

    financial 911

    I'm very impressed by the counsellor's swift response to my reservation, telling me what to bring for the meeting. And he spend much more than the alloted time. I am able to find some head in my financial ball of threads

    Customer since February 2012

  • 5

    Financial Advisor at NYPL

    What a great public benefit! Overwhelmed by the financial information available online and in print, I was desperately seeking some sound financial advice within my very limited budget and found it in the friendly and knowledgeable volunteer I met with from the Financial Planning Association. Thank you FPA and NYPL! Now I can straighten out my retirement investments and build my credit.

    Customer since February 2012

  • 5

    helpful!

    My husband and I met with Stephen Poppel, CFA, and learned quite a bit about steps we should take to secure our financial future. We found him to be very helpful and he gave us a number of ideas we had not thought of. Highly recommended!

    Customer since February 2012

  • 5

    Financial Advisor SIBL/NYPL

    Great Service! The advisor I met with was very patient with my questions. Answered in details and explanations i can understand. I was very helpful to get advice and opinion from someone who is not in the interests of selling you financial products.

    Customer since January 2012

  • 5

    a rare find in NY

    I happened upon the online notice of free financial planning sessions and figured that since I was in need of information, this would be a good idea. The consultant I met with was knowledgeable, helpful and gave me information that I am definitely going to use. He heard where I was coming from and made valuable suggestions, asked poignant questions, and opened my eyes to concerns, This is truly a rare and welcome service in our community.

    Customer since January 2012

  • 4

    A good start

    The information provided by the financial adviser helped me to take the first step into managing my finances. Thank you NYPL for providing this service and thanks to the financial adviser!

    Customer since December 2011

  • 5

    Opportunity to Review Financial Status

    I appreciate the chance to have a professional listen and validate or challenge my own vision of my financial situation. That is exactly what Mr. Cooper did. Thank you.

    Customer since December 2011

  • 5

    FINANCIAL ADVISOR at NYPL

    My experience with S P was excellent. He gave me ample time, printed handout regarding my concern, on the spot written examples, i.e., graph, chart, ratio, of investment and retirement principles. He was warm, friendly, communicated clearly and concisely. S provided a basic education within 1/2 hour. It was clear he had my best interests in mind. Thanks S

    Customer since November 2011

  • 5

    very helpful

    Great. Thanks. It was very helpful. Mr. Wood was very professional and I felt much better after I talked to him. He spend extra time and gave me very good advise.

    Customer since November 2011

  • 5

    Great advice

    The advisor I spoke to (Ted) was very knowledgeable and on-target. He understood exactly what I needed to know. I can't speak highly enough of him-and the voluntary service he provided.

    Customer since November 2011

  • 5

    Very Pleased

    Financial advisor took the time to listen to our concerns, review our documents, and provide meaningful, actionable, and sincere feedback...very professional; informative given the time allotment; advisor did not seem to have a hidden agenda and came across as genuine

    Customer since November 2011

  • 5

    positive experience

    I enjoyed speaking with Mr. Wood about retirement planning. He really listened to all my questions and came up with intelligent, creative ways to make the most of my financial situation.

    Customer since November 2011

  • 5

    More people should take advantage of this service

    Having an opportunity to discuss my plans and concerns with an experienced financial planner was very helpful and stress relieving. He answered all my questions in a no-pressure, non-judgemental way. I hope this program continues.

    Customer since September 2011

  • 4

    Interview with volunteer financial advisor from Wells Fargo

    Very knowledgeable and I came away with three pieces of information I did not have before as well as other viewpoints to my subject. of inquiry. The printed handout given me was useful though the lightness of ink made it difficult to read. He offered a followup meeting should I need to ask further questions. He said he would send me further information on a topic I specified I wanted information about.

    Customer since October 2011

  • 4

    Good advice

    I came in expecting one thing and was assured I am on the right track. They gave me advice, ideas of how to implement my plan, ways to follow through and seek more advice from the service. I am glad I came in and would recommend this service to others

    Customer since October 2011

  • 4

    Help Received to Put Me on the Right Track

    I found the financial advisor patient and easy to speak to. My questions were answered simply and thoroughly. I was given guidance about what type of decisions I needed to make for my retirement and how to go about doing so. I look forward to having a future appointment and would definitely tell others about the value of this service.

    Customer since October 2011

  • 5

    Excellent help and information

    I really enjoyed meeting Mr. Poppel and I greatly valued his non-judgmental, open minded approach. He made all the effort to answer my questions thoroughly and sincerely. I hope I'll have a chance to meet him again in the near future as I'm making the first steps to use my savings wisely. I highly recommend his services.

    Customer since September 2011

  • 4

    Very Helpful and Detailed Assistance

    I found the financial planning advice and information offered to be very helpful for my circumstances. Depending on the information that you provide you may find that the financial plan can be geared to your needs. Thank you for offering this financial planning assistance.

    Customer since October 2011

  • 5

    Financial Consultation

    I had a question regarding a specific type of investment. I found S. Poppel to be very knowledgeable about it. He was able to explain it in layman's terms and in detail. I was provided with information to help me make an informed decision about whether or not to proceed with the investment. It was definitely worth the time spent and I appreciate that such a valuable service is being offered at SIBL/NY and free of charge.

    Customer since September 2011

  • 5

    Excellent

    Very good. I like the service a lot. It was useful and gave me ideas on where to invest and how to save. The representative was kind and offered great advice.

    Customer since September 2011

  • 5

    Quite useful

    30 minutes is not enough...I need to see Stephen once more when I come back from trip to help me work out an investment strategy. It's good to know that advisor is not selling a product so that can be a sign he's not after your money to make commission.

    Customer since August 2011

  • 4

    Valuable information for free

    Received very valuable information about how to control my debit and am looking forward to handling my finances with sound advice I received. I am hoping this service continues in order to come in with investment questions for my future.

    Customer since August 2011

  • 5

    Annuities

    Mr. Woods was very helpful in answering my questions. H is advice on how to handle my investment is greatly apreciated. My appoinment was on time. Thank you for sharing your knowledge.

    Customer since August 2011

  • 2

    Disappointed

    We met for less than half the allotted time, or about less than 15 minutes. I had prepared elaborate financial status and brought all my statements. The advisor did not say anything I would not have thought of on my own. I was disappointed.

    Customer since August 2011

  • 5

    Great

    Mr Ted Wood was very helpful! i went in not knowing what to do with my finances and now I have a better picture of what I should be doing to get on track!

    Customer since July 2011

  • 4

    Financial Literacy Central A Big Help

    I met with Stephen M. Poppel on August 3 because I had some questions regarding pre-retirement investment and spending. Mr. Poppel was very helpful; not only did he respond to my specific queries, he opened the discussion in a way that yielded advice re aspects of the subject that I had not entertained. Very helpful.

    Customer since July 2011

  • 5

    Excellent

    I left feeling I had just had a teacher help me gain some crucial knowledge. Stephen comes highly recommended...I got advice about possible investment options to further consider as well as clear answers to all my questions.

    Customer since July 2011

  • 1

    Not Much

    Honestly, I did not learn that much from the session. It was way too general. I did not know what to expect. I am glad I went but I have no reason to go again.

    Customer since July 2011

  • 5

    Investment consultation

    Mr T. Wood is very knowledgeable. He went over my financial plan and gave me valuable ideas about my investments. I would like to consult with him again.

    Customer since July 2011

  • 5

    BEST

    Whenever I meet Ted I learn a lot and get better understanding about financial matters. Getting an insight into the asset market trend is a good bonus. This program is quite helpful and what everyone needs especially at a time when economy is slowing and uncertainty is growing higher. I'm a big fan of it. "SUE ME"

    Customer since November 2010

  • 5

    A very good experience

    The financial advisor I spoke with helped me tremendously. He was knowledgeable and and supportive. He empowered me to solve the problem I had arrive with. And he was a kind and intelligent person.

    Customer since June 2011

  • 5

    Great info!

    Great information and helpful service. You really can't beat the price either. Steve helped lay out the terms so it was easy to understand and gave the potential risk/ investment for each. I felt much more informed coming out of it. I will be coming back!

    Customer since June 2011

  • 4

    You'd be nuts not to do it

    I got several good, unbiased pieces of advice from the financial adviser. He offered to provide follow-up advice if I wished. Everyone should take advantage of this extraordinary offer of professional, free financial advice.

    Customer since June 2011

  • 4

    Thanks for the help

    Excellent! Help me develop a trend to hold myself accountable. Would recommend everyone take advantage of this free program------------------------------------------------------

    Customer since May 2011

  • 4

    Helpful

    I'm glad my volunteer has worked in the field for many years, though it does create an incentive for her to sell her services. Overall, it was extremely educational and geared to my needs.

    Customer since May 2011

  • 5

    Financial Literacy Central Financial Advisor

    Highly recommend making an appointment at the Financial Literacy Central SIBL/NYPL for a Financial Advisor meeting. Bill provided great advice on retirement savings and current situation.

    Customer since March 2011

  • 4

    Positive Experience

    I found the adviser very patient with my questions and informative with his suggestions. We covered several financial topics within the allotted time. Would definitely seek the same adviser again.

    Customer since March 2011

  • 5

    Financial Literacy Review

    Eugene was excellent! Very knowledgable and informative. Very helpful. GPlease have him come back again. Thanks!ave a lot of info about 401k, credit cards and Roth IRAs.

    Customer since March 2011

  • 5

    Superb advice

    Ted outlined possible options and the risks of each, along with some examples. I went in with some ideas of my possible courses of action and Ted helped me tease out the details. This is an excellent pro-bono service that I will likely use again in the future when confronted with financial questions.

    Customer since April 2011

  • 5

    Excellent!

    Eugene S. was very knowledgeable, helpful, and personable. He reviewed our savings and retirement goals and gave us sound advice. He also looked through our portfolio allocation and gave us very solid advice for how to simplify our portfolio and avoid large fees. My husband and I will definitely be using this service again.

    Customer since March 2011

  • 5

    Three Seminars in One Day, Yes !

    At 12:00 I had an appointment with Mr. Poppel, who went over my specific questions with understanding and helpful feedback. Then I saw on the calendar for that same day two more seminars which I attended. Both very enlightening. What a good day!

    Customer since March 2011

  • 1

    The financial "professional" didn't call or show up, he wasted my time.

    I prepared myself for the meeting, and took the time to print my financial paperwork to discuss. I traveled to manhattan from queens, and the financial counselor didn't show up or call to notify the library staff of a problem. I was very disappointed and aggravated. Several hours of my day I could have been doing something productive. Then I had to make a new appointment four weeks later. I should have been squeezed into a sooner appointment date.

    Customer since March 2011

  • 5

    Five-star review

    Mr. Wood was very generous with his time and knowledge. I feel that I have a great resource to access in the future as I try to clarify the complicated issues of personal finance.

    Customer since March 2011

  • 5

    Meeting with Teddy Wood

    Ted gave me clear insight as to what course of action to take, after having reviewed our financial statements. We will be holding a follow-up session in April.

    Customer since February 2011

  • 4

    Consumer has to steer the conversation

    FLC is a great resource, no doubt about it. Having met a CFA was a good experience; I received some good advice but it is necessary to be prepared for this meeting. You should know what you want to talk about and steer the conversation to stick on your topic of interest. During my meeting, it was clear that my advisor wanted to stick to the basics and not delve into the topic of my need. I did however, get a good amount of information for a free service.

    Customer since February 2011

  • 4

    The Man's All Right

    The consultant I saw was very nice, knows his subject and was willing to listen to my unique situation. He answered the one basic question I was concerned with and I left the meeting feeling more certain about what to do.

    Customer since February 2011

  • 5

    This service is a real treasure.

    Mr. Popple packed a lot of information specific to my situation innto a short space of time. And he didn't have any previous kowledge of me or my situation. He made me feel at ease enough to talk about my personal finances which is not easy to do.

    Customer since January 2011

  • 5

    Good advice

    I found the meeting very useful and informative . Does not hold back any info . Very good answers for specific questions !! The best financial and career advice I have recieved in a while :)

    Customer since February 2011

  • 5

    Very good

    He was very good, informative and personable! I liked it a lot and I am currently recommending this to everyone who need financial advice; it's good to hear from an expert. Definitely worth it!

    Customer since January 2011

  • 4

    Retirement account advice

    My counselor was very friendly and made me feel comfortable. He gave simple, good advice including which accounts had tax advantages, where to open an account, where to read more about investing, and some basic info on age-related investment distribution between stocks and bonds. Also, I would not have known that I can make a 2010 contribution by April 15 2011 if I hadn't had this meeting, so now I have a goal to work toward and am aware of the deadline. This helped get me started!

    Customer since January 2011

  • 5

    Guidance in good direction

    My last meeting with Ted was another step closer to my financial establishment. His advice gave me better understanding & guidance of the credit world & how it can affect each individual financially. It was a pleasure to take advantage of this free service only in the city of New York ladies & gentlemen. Thanks again to the NYPL Financial Literacy Center

    Customer since July 2010

  • 5

    Very helpful

    It was very reassuring to meet with a knowledgeable and patient financial counselor to go over my retirement investment options. I received quick and sound advice that I can apply very easily

    Customer since January 2011

  • 5

    Wonderful service

    The counselor did an excellent job of answering my questions. I appreciated his down-to-earth approach and the way he put trends into perspective. I highly recommend this program.

    Customer since December 2010

  • 4

    Planning Ahead

    Knowledgeable advisors are always a great asset. When your able to get free advise from knowledgeable and experienced advisors, well, I would say, " you have an ace in the hole". Thanks SIBL/NYPL and everyone responsible, especially the advisors.

    Customer since December 2010

  • 4

    Reassurance

    It was good to have someone hear what I'm thinking financially and to be reassured that I'm on the right track. He was patient and gave some good advice.

    Customer since November 2010

  • 5

    Great help...

    ...by knowledgeable counselor. I felt comfortable asking any questions and answers were always respectfully replied to with a genuine sense concern and interest. I left with a lot of incentive to learn more about what I could do with my financial situation.

    Customer since December 2010

  • 5

    excellent

    I definitely got a useful and knowledgeable answers from Mr. Wood. He is dedicated to the counselling and has an insight into the financial market. From the counsellig, I got to have better understanding of what's going on in the market. I appreciate it.

    Customer since November 2010

  • 5

    Very helpful

    He gave me a clear blueprint for ways of planning for a secure financial future. I highly recommend taking advantage of this service offered by NYPL.

    Customer since November 2010

  • 5

    I needed advice

    on a question that I had had for a long time. I received a knowledgeable answer - for free. I am so grateful for this service. The planner took the time to explain things to me and was very patient. Thank you.

    Customer since November 2010

  • 4

    Useful input

    It was a short meeting, but gave me a good overview of what I should be thinking about when planning my finances for the future. A free resource from the NYPL that everyone should take advantage of.

    Customer since November 2010

  • 4

    Very informative

    Meeting was very informative and helpful! Answered all my questions and gave me lots of helpful information about investing and saving. Happy that such services exist for free. I will be coming back

    Customer since November 2010

  • 4

    A Very Good Start

    How nice, and amazingly unexpected, to find that a service I had been looking for, and expecting to pay for, was available, free of charge, at SIBL. Mr Supper was very helpful, the conversation we started I look forward to continuing, and all in all - I think we're tremendously lucky to have such valuable opportunities provided right here in our NYPL branch. Thanks so much to the Financial Planners' Association, the NYPL, and everybody who helps make this service available. I will be back.

    Customer since November 2010

  • 5

    more than good

    It was very helpful. I learned a lot. Defenately I want to have more chace to involve it. Thanks for Mr. Wood and I hope to share point f views concerning what's going on in the financial market next time.

    Customer since November 2010

  • 5

    very helpful in answering the questions i had

    I had many basic questions about what to do with money saving--i.e. 401K vs. IRA vs. stock etc.--and they were all answered in a precise and understandable way. Very friendly and helpful in getting my ducks in a row. thanks!

    Customer since October 2010

  • 4

    Meeting with Financial Professional

    As a senior who has had disappointing previous experience with other pro bono financial advisory offers, I found the person I spoke with at SIBL recently sympathetic to my concerns and well-prepared to respond to my questions (purposely tailored to fit the half hour allowed).

    Customer since June 2010

  • 4

    Financial Advisor

    The advisor was really helpful and addressed my concerns. I am glad SIBL provide this pro bono service. I wish I had more time to ask more questions. Thank you

    Customer since October 2010

  • 5

    Financial Advisor

    The advisor provided well-informed and valuable knowledge. The advisor was able to answer questions and understood the goals I have for the future. I was also impressed by the amount of information that is available at the literacy central. Thank you

    Customer since October 2010

  • 1

    waste of time

    The advisor spent my session pushing his firm's services. Even after I firmly told him that I was unwilling to pay their fees he continued his pitch. I kept trying to steer the conversation back to an examination of my financial status but he avoided that and returned to his attempt to sell me on his company. This was especially annoying because I never expressed interest in having any firm control my money. I wish I could rate this with no stars because it was a complete waste of my time.

    Customer since October 2010

  • 4

    FINANCIAL ADVISOR / FINANCIAL LITERACY

    I'm impressed that a pro bono advisor is offered by SIBL/NYPL. A half hour is pretty tight but still worthwhile. I'm also impressed by the wealth of information and opportunities to learn from experts in the field, and other programs in support of financial literacy. Thank you SIBL/NYPL!

    Customer since October 2010

  • 3

    Not enough time...

    I think it's a tremendous service: however, it's not enough time to really accomplish much. Ultimately, I left feeling like the counselor was (gently) trying to sell me her financial services. In fairness, my questions were pretty general and this might have more value for those with specific questions. I think I will stick to the evening classes until i learn more.

    Customer since October 2010

  • 5

    Financial Advisor SIBL/NYPL

    What a terrific opportunity to sit across from an experienced finance person and talk about your numbers free of charge and sans pitch. The advice was appreciated, the advisor's interest seemed genuine and professional, and the offer of a follow up - encouraging. Thank you, FLC!

    Customer since September 2010

  • 3

    Non-IVY league NGO working individual beware.

    She was alright but a bit judgmental. She asked where I went to school and when I said a non-Ivy league school she responded with an "oh". When I told her how much I made and that I worked for an NGO, she again did not seem impressed and actually told me to get a "better" job in the future. She was well meaning, but very condescending.

    Customer since September 2010

  • 5

    FINANCIAL ADVISOR AT NY BUSINESS PUBLIC LIBRARY

    VERY GOOD EFFORT FROM THE LIBRARY. KUDOS FOR PROVIDING COMPREHENSIVE FINANCIAL RESOURCES TO ALL. EXCELLENT TIMING. ADVISOR WAS EXPERIENCED AND DID NOT MAKE ANY PITCHES; JUST LISTENED, ASKED QUESTIONS AND SUGGESTED A FOLLOW UP MEETING TO PROVIDE A MORE COMPREHENSIVE VIEW. VERY PROFESSIONAL.

    Customer since September 2010

  • 1

    Terribly disappointed

    I was on time on Thu 09/23/10 - 6:30pm at room 52. I came all the way from White Plains - Westchester and there was no one there. I could have been contacted by phone if something unexpected came up but no one did.

    Customer since August 2010

  • 5

    Very Happy With Consult

    I met with Theodore Wood "Ted" of Weels Fargo Advisors, and was very happy with the consult. Although I am new to investing, and have ignored this important fact of life, I was treated with respect. He made recommendations of how I could invest from an upcoming income given my age and needs. Eager to learn more!

    Customer since August 2010

  • 5

    It was an educational and pleasant experience

    Hi FLC employee. During consultation with your financial adviser I got a lot of helpfull and most importanly customised for me information I needed. I am an accountant with lisense and BS in accounting . I was surprised by a good advises I got. Thank you. I will visit a carrer adviser as weel. Olga

    Customer since September 2010

  • 5

    Thanks NYPL)))

    Ted from Wells Fargo steered me in the right direction. His expertise were creditable and he was very personable. I took notes and we certainly hit it off. Thanks!

    Customer since August 2010

  • 5

    Sensible, free advice

    The session was thorough and easy to understand. I felt as though I got a general idea of what direction I should be headed in, which for a free session, was all I wanted. A very great service to the community, I highly reccomend it. (And told friends as much.)

    Customer since August 2010

  • 1

    Free Financial Advisor Review

    I went to one of these sessions two weeks ago and still have not received and follow up information from the advisor. The advisor was ill-prepared and did not say much of anything and did not fully elaborate on his background outside of the number of years in the industry. Would be more helpful if the FLC offered bios on these advisors before you waste time to sit and meet with them.

    Customer since July 2010

  • 4

    Good Start for Financial Planning

    In a very brief time the financial counselor was able to point out what I needed to do to improve my retirement planning and to provide a list of places to look for more information and assistance. It was certainly good to talk to someone without a product to sell.

    Customer since July 2010

  • 4

    Financial Insight

    My experience with a financial advisor (Ted Wood) was an overall confident approach towards financial situations. Ted explained how I should manage my credit , the benefits I can recieve and how I should be cautious. I'm thankful that the Financial Literacy Central and Ted can provide New Yorkers with such service. I definately want to attend more courses in the future for more knowledge.

    Customer since July 2010

  • 5

    review

    I had several questions and doubts about some financial transactions I made regarding my retirement planning. Paul Palazzo answered my questions and made suggestions for what I could do. He was knowledgeable (and when he wasn't sure of something, he made a phone call to find out), nonjudgemental, and patient, and he explained things clearly. This is a great service for people who don't understand the murky world of finance and financial planning.

    Customer since July 2010

  • 3

    Not geared for someone with their finances in order

    I didn't have any debt and I have enough savings so it was difficult for my financial advisor to recommend me anything besides what I knew already. The main thing I took away was to keep at what I was doing and to tweak my 401(k) a little bit.

    Customer since June 2010

  • 5

    Great Job

    The Resume Renovation class taught by John Crant last week was very informative and helpful. I learned what I am doing wrong and what to do to improve. Overall an excellent experience and I plan on attending more classes like this one.

    Customer since June 2010

  • 5

    Jeff

    I found the advice that Jeff gave to be reassuring and informative. This was a very good meeting and I thank both Jeff, his organization and the SIBL/NYPL for making these meetings available. It was the first time I met with a financial planner.

    Customer since June 2010

Business Information

Hours Wed12:00pm - 2:00pm
Thu5:00pm - 7:00pm
Fri12:00pm - 2:30pm
Sat12:00pm - 2:00pm
Phone (646) 820-7425
Location Get directions
Website www.nypl.org/moneymatters