Genbook verified user seal

These reviews are from verified customers of this business.

VERIFIED CUSTOMER REVIEWS
  • 5

    Great service

    I have been going to solar hair for over a year now and would not go anywhere else. Sarah is the best. She does my hair, my husband's, and my kids. Always excellent service. I would recommend solar hair and Sarah to anyone wanting a great cut or excellent color.

    Customer since May 2013

  • 5

    Sarah

    My husband and I both go to Sarah and we both love her!!! We would not hesitate recommending her to anyone who is looking to try someone new!!!

    Customer since December 2013

  • 5

    Sarah!

    Sarah always does such an amazing job! After searching all over Wilmington I am now finally happy with my hair color! I would highly recommend her to anyone! Plus she is very friendly and outgoing. She is a real asset to the salon!

    Customer since September 2014

  • 5

    I am a fan

    Sarah has been my stylist for two years now. I have never been happier. Since Solar Hair went with their online reservation system I can finally plan my trips as part of my regular schedule.

    Customer since June 2013

  • 5

    I've found a home

    Molly cut my hair for a second time. I am thrilled with the cut and Molly is just the nicest person. I've been lost since I retired and moved from Raleigh. I'm home!

    Customer since August 2014

  • 5

    great!

    I've been to Solar hair twice now. Both times was treated with wonderful patience and consideration for my particular needs. Felthe like a million afterwards. Hairdresser was Breanna -great personality.

    Customer since August 2014

  • 5

    Perfection & Professional!!

    Sarah James Brown does my hair and she is incredible. Super talented in cutting, color and styling. I'm super picky and she is so patient and does exactly what I ask for. She spends time talking bout your goals too so everyone is on the same page before she begins. Solar Hair also has tanning beds which are very nice and clean and always have the bulbs changed on time. Couldn't b happier with all my experiences there.

    Customer since May 2013

  • 5

    Breanna Bulak provides me with the best haircut personal attention to detail.

    From the first moment that I walked into Solar Salon . I felt very welcomed and was treated as a very important client. My Hair Stylist Breanna Bulak is super outstanding. She always listens very attentively to my expectations. I find her to be caring,professional, fun to talk with and she makes sure that before I walk out of the salon that I am 100% satisfied. She is the first hairstylist in my whole life where I did not have to return back a few days later to correct anything. Very satisfied.

    Customer since August 2014

  • 5

    Sarah is the best!

    I have been getting my hair cut/colored by Sarah for a little over a year now. I lucked out finding her right after moving to Wilmington. She always makes me feel beautiful after doing such a fabulous job on my hair EVERY time. Thanks, Sarah....

    Customer since May 2013

  • 5

    Excellent first experience with Sarah

    Having just moved from Michigan, I was anxious about finding a new salon. I was immediately put at ease by Sarah. Not only is she an experienced colorist/stylist, but is truly wonderful and personable. My color and highlights are perfect, and my cut was great. I have found my new salon and color specialist. Highly recommended Sarah!!

    Customer since September 2014

  • 5

    Bri was great!

    I had used Solar Hair before and had to use the rest of my gift certificate that I had. I booked my appointment online (which was great) and was able to get a shampoo, cut, blow dry, and straighten all in an hour! Bri was great!! Really listened to what I wanted, but added her own suggestions about what looked good. Would definitely recommend Solar Hair to anyone! My mom got a color touchup after me and also loved Bri as well! We'll definitely be back!

    Customer since September 2014

  • 4

    Sarah

    I was very happy with my cut done by Sarah. She was very professional. Will be going to see her in a few weeks.

    Customer since September 2014

  • 5

    Great Service

    The salon is always very clean and ready to receive guests. The new advanced scheduling system is great. I get notices and reminders my appointments. Makes life so much easier.

    Customer since June 2013

  • 5

    much better hair cut

    After several bad hair cuts locally I decided to try a new salon. Solar had been very kind by advertising my business on their Facebook page and I thought it would be a good place to try. Molly cut my hair and I could tell right away she understood my problem. My hair is nicely shaped now and I am sure after the next few hair cuts I'll have the length and shape I want. Great job, Molly. Thanks

    Customer since August 2014

  • 5

    Appointment with Sarah

    As always, Sarah did an excellent job coloring my hair. Im very happy i found her considering how picky i am. Her work is very consistent and she does a great job every time.

    Customer since December 2013

  • 5

    Appointment with Breanna

    I always enjoy my appointments with Breanna. She is professional, and helpful with any of my particular hair problem questions, and has helped me considerably.

    Customer since April 2014

  • 5

    Root touch up and cut

    Great experience with Jennifer. She spent quality time with me to insure that she knew what I wanted and did a great job. Highly recommend her.

    Customer since August 2014

  • 5

    Molly was fantastic!

    Molly is new to the salon, and I ended up switching an appointment and ended up with her, and I loved it. You won't be disappointed!

    Customer since May 2014

  • 5

    Sarah is great

    I moved to Wilmington a year ago from Boston and had a hard time finding a hair dresser I liked. I have a lot of friends who are hair dressers so I can tend to be pretty picky. I found Solarhair online and went in blindly after seeing a few reviews online for Sarah. I absolutely loved what Sarah did with my highlights. Not only that but she is a really nice person and who you can tell genuinely cares!

    Customer since April 2014

  • 5

    Sara is awesome

    I am always pleased with my hair when I leave Solar salon. Sara is very talented and makes my hair beautiful. Also she is fun to talk to. I would definitely recommend her.

    Customer since July 2014

  • 4

    Great Job every time by Breanna ! I am Picky !

    Thanks to Breanna for a great hair style, I am so picky but she seems to listen every time !! Great stylist and friendly prompt service at a reasonable price! Overall high marks except for the lady in the next booth was a little rude to my hairstylist and a littl rude to me, must be an owner and should listen to the customer and butt out of the one on one we were having :) I mean this in the nicest way !

    Customer since March 2014

  • 5

    Loved it!

    She gave me a cut & color. Tirned out exactly how i wanted! I would highley recommend her. Thank you!

    Customer since June 2014

  • 5

    great

    Best hair cut I have had in a long time. Breanna did a great job she is a detail person and spends the time to get it all just right.

    Customer since July 2014

  • 5

    Amazing job!

    I recently got married in Wilmington. I am not from the area but was referred to Sarah at solar hair. Sarah did my hair, my moms hair, and my sisters hair. We let her do her own thing and she did an outstanding job! My hair held all day long and looked beautiful! The prices were also very reasonable! I would highly recommend!

    Customer since April 2014

  • 5

    Sarah is a true professional

    Sarah is an amazing stylist! She is easy to work with, listens to what you want and gives great feedback. So glad I found her-after 3 years of searching for a great hair stylist!

    Customer since February 2014

  • 5

    Sarah is exquisite

    Sarah has been styling my hair for about a year, and I'm thrilled to have finally found an excellent stylist. She is a true artist. Not only does she listen, but she is willing to be creative and possesses the skill to follow through - and she is an absolute joy!

    Customer since May 2013

  • 5

    Breanna is awesome

    Went in to SolarHair not really sure what to expect, I was instantly made to feel welcome there, the staff is excellent. Breanna did an awesome job on my hair even though I had no idea what I wanted her to do, she gave me her professional opinions and it turned out fantastic. Definitely recommend to anyone and everyone!

    Customer since May 2014

  • 5

    Love My Haircut!

    I was very apprehensive about finding a new hair stylist as I have lived in Wilmington only 4 months. My usually short hair was really out of control and I was looking for someone with a talent for cutting short hair. I read Breanna's great reviews, booked an appointment and was very happy with my cut. I will definitely be back and will trust her with my color. Thanks Breanna!

    Customer since June 2014

  • 5

    Shampoo and Cut w/Breanna

    Always a pleasure because she listens, and is professional in every way. I am having my damaged hair cut short, and she has given me a style.

    Customer since April 2014

  • 5

    Love this Salon

    Breanna did an amazing job on my hair yesterday. Needed it done last minute for engagement photos. I usually have Sarah do my hair, it is nice to know that there is someone else in the salon that can meet my needs! Great staff and always friendly (:

    Customer since June 2013

  • 5

    Best Salon in Wilmington!!

    Best my hair ever felt n looked. 100percent satisfied. No complaints will definetly be setting my next appt with Breanna. Great Job!!

    Customer since April 2014

  • 5

    Best salon!

    I've never left a salon being overjoyed and being able to say it came out exactly how I wanted before I came here! I also have never gone to the same salon religiously but now I'll never let anyone but Sarah touch my hair!

    Customer since April 2014

  • 5

    Sarah is Amazing!

    I have lived in Wilmington 8 years and I havent found a hair dresser until I went to Sarah at SolarHair. She is amazing! After a year of trims I finally let her ombra my hair from black to carmel color. It looks amazing and I have gotten so many compliments on it. I completely trust her with anything I need done! Go to her, I promise you will be happy you did!

    Customer since August 2013

  • 5

    Just wonderful

    I've been to solar hair a few times before, and as always it was wonderful, when ever I go for a haircut or a trim they are always so accommodating.

    Customer since April 2014

  • 4

    Hi-Lites Low-Lites and Style Cut

    Making appointments online is easy. My hair looks wonderful and feels healthy now that it has been cut. My only complaint is that they are a bit pricey, even for a first time customer.

    Customer since April 2014

  • 5

    Hair cut

    My first visit....(.and able to make appt online was a plus). My hair was damaged from over processing, so I had Breanna cut it really short, but w/style, and she did that quite nicely. Also bought 2 products she had used. As hair grows I will be back for trims until I decide how to style, but it will be w/Breanna who knows her stuff and has a pleasant personality.

    Customer since April 2014

  • 5

    Love this salon!

    I absolutely love this place I travel over a hour just to get my hair done here. It's very clean the staff are very nice and know how to cut hair to fit any body frame and make it look fabulous!

    Customer since March 2014

  • 5

    wonderful

    Sarah, has been doing my hair for 1 yr and always Dose excellent job, that my hair now is very healthy, strong and the longest I've ever had in my life. Thanks again for all your talent

    Customer since August 2013

  • 4

    Great color!

    I had a very pleasant experience here. It was my first time and I completely trusted the stylist to do a great job. My highlights look awesome! Professional and friendly service, competitive prices and wonderful results :)

    Customer since March 2014

  • 5

    Excellant service

    I'm a new customer to SolarHair and Sarah helped me feel comfortable right away. Sarah was personable and interesting to talk to. There was a lot of laughing among the rest of the crew and customers so it was a great experiance. I would recommend SolarHair to others.

    Customer since March 2014

  • 5

    Sarah

    Always a very satisfied experience. Sarah is personable and she is an excellent stylist. Thank you, Susan and Will Adams

    Customer since July 2013

  • 5

    Breanna is the BEST!!!

    Went here for the first time. Great atmosphere and very good service. Breanne definitely one of the best hair stylist in the town. I have been to many and they could not style my hair. But Breanne did the best haircut and I recommend to go to Solar hair and you wont be disappointing. And ask for Breanne.

    Customer since March 2014

  • 5

    Happy hair

    Loved my hair do by Brianna, she understood exactly what I wanted and had a mess to work with !! Loved her professionalism and loved she was on the same page as me !! Was a walk in and now I have a hair dresser I can go to and look forward to out next appointment !

    Customer since March 2014

  • 5

    Brianna= awesome

    Since i've moved to Wilmington i've been iffy about someone highlighting my hair in the particular way I want. Brianna, who is fairly new to the Salon did an amazing job! She really listened to every detail of what I wanted done had awesome suggestions and then did more than an excellent job with the color and style! Once my hair was blow-dried I loved it! (Which is not something I initially like as it takes time for me to get used too) I have had many compliments on how great the color looks!

    Customer since February 2014

  • 5

    Fantastic!

    Moved here 7 months ago and finally found some one who can cut my thin blonde hair. Jennifer was great. I will be back.

    Customer since February 2014

  • 5

    Legit

    I don't say this often but this probably was one of the best salon expierences I have had in a long time. I'm very picky about my hair and who cuts it but the cosmetologist Breanna got it dead on. I'm very pleased with the service and am very likely to go back and refer people to her.

    Customer since February 2014

  • 5

    Amazing!

    I just moved here a year ago and am always nervous when someone cuts my hair (bad experiences in the past!!) Brianna was amazing! She took her time and really did a great job! It feels good to finally have a decent hair cut again! I will definitely be going back in the future! I'm so glad I found this place!!

    Customer since February 2014

  • 5

    Excellent Experience as Always!

    Sarah is amazing! She is very knowledgeable about hair color and always gives me an amazing cut. She is the best!! This was my fourth appointment with Sarah and I couldn't be happier. So happy I found her!

    Customer since June 2013

  • 5

    Solar Hair & stylist Breanna Are Awesome!

    I had an appt. at my usual salon, which got cancelled last minute. Im a SAHM,so Sat. is the only day I get "me time". I read the reviews online, & called. Breanna said to come on in! I was impressed. She did a thorough consult, as I need an easy style, with low & hiIites. When she finished, I was in awe. The cut & color is perfect. I was so happy that I made another appt.with Breanna in 6 weeks. She & Solar Hair have gained a new customer, as I will be going there from now on

    Customer since August 2013

  • 5

    Love SolarHair!

    Went to Sarah for first time last week. Great cut and nailed the color I was looking for! will definitely be back.

    Customer since February 2014

  • 5

    So glad I found SolarHair!

    Since I am new to the area, and have had the same Charlotte hairstylist for 10 years, I was a little squeamish about having someone else cut my wavy hair. But Sarah did a terrific job with my cut - she advised me about the style, and was meticulous with making it just right! I am able to style it easily and my husband thinks my new cut is beautiful. I will return - maybe for some highlights!

    Customer since January 2014

  • 5

    Sarah James Brown

    Great stylist and colorist, sarah is fun, talented full of knowledge & detailed!!! Very happy with my new style & color;) Gary the owner & Other guy at Solar Hair are very accommodating. Went out of their way once to get me a coffee or my fav. beverages A++ & tanning is inclusive. Positive reviews all the way around. Only kicker is I cant afford to go there as often as I need to get color $$$$

    Customer since January 2014

  • 5

    Sarah is awesome!

    Sarah has been styling my hair for about eight months, and I'm thrilled with her! This is the best my hair has ever looked, thanks to her. She is an excellent listener and takes the time to create the style no one else could do. Sarah is truly an artist. She is also very personable, making it a real pleasure getting my hair styled. Bravo, Sarah!

    Customer since May 2013

  • 5

    Sarah Brown

    Wonderful, effortless styling by Sarah Brown. My first visit and she nailed it!! A style that lasted 3 days after bringing in the new year!

    Customer since December 2013

  • 5

    Awesome!

    Sarah Brown has been our family hair designer since we moved to Wilmington a year ago. She's awesome! Everyone in the salon is super nice, and and it's truly a green experience for us all when we come!

    Customer since June 2013

  • 5

    Best Salon

    Gong to solar I always feel welcomed and safe. I would recommend this salon to anyone looking for a home salon.

    Customer since June 2013

  • 5

    Sarah-Highly Recommend

    After moving here, searching for salons, reading reviews, I finally took the plunge and had Sarah color my hair. She did not disappoint! I'm very particular about my hair and she works wonders. I'm in love with my new "do"! On top of that, she's really fun and personable which made the experience that much more enjoyable. Five stars.

    Customer since October 2013

  • 5

    Great cut and color!

    Sara cuts and colors my hair. I have long hair which seems to be a challenge to just about every other hair stylist I have had. My daughter started going to her while enrolled in UNCW and I would arrange my visits around an appointment. So happy am I that even with daughter now at UNC CH Law I still drive the 3 1/2 hrs to get it done. (my daughter still drives back to Wilmington too). Thanks Sara :)

    Customer since October 2013

  • 5

    Hair & makeup

    I had Sarah do my hair & makeup for the USMC ball. My hair was absolutely perfect and my makeup was flawless. I highly recommend this hair salon!

    Customer since September 2013

  • 4

    Very happy

    My first visit to Solar was a very good experience. I am having surgery very soon and needed a haircut that would be super easy to manage while I am recuperating. I ended up with super short hair, but think that will work very well, since I'm not sure when I can get it cut again (longer next time). Matt did a very good job, and price was reasonable. But he is leaving. So I guess I'll have to come back and try another one of your stylists.

    Customer since October 2013

  • 5

    Best Men's Haircut in Wilmington

    Having moved to the area recently, I was getting annoyed because five or six other barbers/salons in the area that offer mediocre haircuts at prices I consider excessive ($30-$40 for a standard Men's cut). Sarah at Solar Hair does an outstanding job at half the price of some of the other area salons. Cannot recommend her or Solar Hair enough.

    Customer since July 2013

  • 5

    Great!

    I got my hair dyed for the very first time here and it was a great experience! Sarah took care of all my questions and I felt very comfortable in her hands. Would definitely recommend to others!

    Customer since October 2013

  • 5

    Always the best

    Always have the best time when i come in here. Its a relaxing professional environment! Keep it up guys!

    Customer since May 2013

  • 5

    Never disappointed!

    Sarah is amazing! She does a wonderful job cutting hair but also does an amazing job with color. She cuts my hair exactly the way I ask. The best in Wilmington!

    Customer since June 2013

  • 5

    Very happy with haircut!

    Love, love Sarah! She does a fabulous job cutting my hair, is very personable, and gives suggestions based on what you are wanting....which means she listens! You will not be disappointed.

    Customer since May 2013

  • 5

    Sarah

    Met Sarah for the 1st time yesterday and she was able to accomplish what 10 other hairdressers in 7 years here have never been able to--my haircolor is the best in 15 years and she gave me a fabulous cut as well. This girl is REALLY talented and LISTENS to you!!!!

    Customer since August 2013

  • 5

    Sarah

    Sarah gave me a perm and last week a hair cut she is very good, She is very personalbe, the staff was great friendly would recommend her highly

    Customer since July 2013

  • 5

    Skilled stylist, friendly staff, very professional

    Sarah did a wonderful job coloring/highlighting my hair. Also, gave a great cut! Enjoyed my time with her, too! Accommodating staff and friendly atmosphere!

    Customer since July 2013

  • 4

    Great Service, Knowledgeable Staff

    Sara was great. Really knew how to color hair, took her time and matched my existing color perfectly. She was very sweet as well. Great overall job.

    Customer since July 2013

  • 5

    Salon experience

    Sara is awesome and knows how to cut/style hair. She is the only one out of all the salons I've been to that knows how to cut and style my hair. I just adore her, such a sweet person!! Always happy with her and her outstanding personality!!!!! I recommend solar hair to everyone in the Wilmington NC area......

    Customer since July 2013

  • 5

    Best place in town!

    Sarah is the best! She is so patient with me and shows me how to style it myself. I just love her. The whole salon is wonderful. I couldn't find a salon in the area that I was happy with so I drove to Raleigh for a hair cut! I am so happy with Sarah and SolarHair - I highly recommend SolarHair to anyone - and have!

    Customer since June 2013

  • 5

    Can't beat SolarHair!

    Sarah gets my cut right every time and makes sure I can recreate the look at home. The rest of the SolarHair staff is wonderful, too! I highly recommend these guys based on their skill, personality and reasonable prices.

    Customer since June 2013

  • 5

    Excellent!

    Sara is an excellent, professional stylist! She took time to listen to make sure she understood what I wanted and explained what she was doing. I am thrilled with my cut! (I have to admit that I'm very hard to please.) She is also very pleasant and easy to talk to. I'm so happy to have finally found (after a very long search) a wonderful stylist!

    Customer since May 2013

  • 5

    wonderful

    Sarah was extraordinary. and and very insightful with her knowledge and skills that I will never hunt for a great hairstylist ever again

    Customer since August 2013

  • 3

    Solon Experience

    Great Experience, great haircut, nice people. Would recommend them to anyone in Wilmington NC area!

    Customer since May 2013

  • 5

    Best Salon of Wilmington

    Solar Hair Is The BeSt Salon In Wilmington Everyone Is Friendly Service And Pricing Is The BeSt Around.

    Customer since May 2013

  • 5

    super awesome

    I got my hair cut by Sarah, and she was amazing, she made me feel very comfortable, I wasn't afraid to ask for what I wanted and for her opinion on what would look good. I was very impressed with the end result and will definitely go back again

    Customer since July 2013

  • 5

    Awesome Staff

    I've had two haircuts at SolarHair. One with Juli and one with Sarah. Both gave me a great haircut and were very personable. The only problem is my decision who to see next. Can both cut my hair at the same time?!?

    Customer since March 2013

  • 5

    Good vibes

    I'm not a picky person about my hair, and this was a good fit for me. Sarah listened to what I needed, and was attentive to my needs. I even was offered a free treatment when I come back. She's great about explaining what she's doing and why. For example, why she chooses to thin by slicing without using shears. I like knowing what they're doing so that if I like it, I can ask for it again. Everyone in the salon was friendly and I felt welcome.

    Customer since February 2013

  • 5

    Ask for Sarah!

    Went in recently, not really sure what I wanted to do with my hair - just knew I needed a change. Sarah spent time helping me figure out what would look best on me, and gave me wonderful new haircut! I have never been so happy with a new hairstyle. Will definitely go back to see her!!!

    Customer since January 2013

  • 5

    Splendid

    Due to traffic I arrived really late to my appointment. 45 mins late to be exact and Sarah was still able to fit me in and make my hair look great for the Marine Corps Ball!

    Customer since November 2012

  • 5

    Great

    I was highly impressed with my first visit to SolarHair. Sarah was great. I will definitely be returning.

    Customer since August 2012

  • 5

    AMAZING AMAZING AMAZING!!!!!!!

    It was my first time at this salon and I was getting 13 inches cut off. I brought in pictures for Chase to review and he did an amazing job cutting my hair. I wasn't nervous during any portion of the cut b/c Chase made sure to check in with me and was experienced and professional. It was exactly what I wanted! I've gotten so many compliments! I even had someone at work take pictures of me so she could take them to her next appointment! I love SolarHair and will definitely be returning!

    Customer since July 2011

  • 3

    hair cut

    have a lot of collicks and warned the hairdresser. She still pulled the front left side tight and cut it equal with right side. Of course she blew it dry and pulled it into place but no matter how hard I tried it looked okay but an hour later I had lopsided bangs. I have since cut off the other side shorter myself. Not too happy about that.

    Customer since April 2011

  • 5

    Great Experience, very convenient

    Traveled from CT to NC for the weekend to attend a wedding; did not want to check luggage, did not have room for hair products (not to mention the limited amount of liquid allowed for carry on). Solar Hair Salon was the PERFECT solution ! I made reservations on line and received an email remindar. My sister and I were very happy with the staff and the service we received. Most convenient, great products, great staff. Highly Recommended !

    Customer since April 2011

  • 5

    SolarHair Haircut

    I had excellent service, good conversation, and received an adorable hair cut. I was in and out in a timely manner. Also, I received tips to keep my hair as healthy as it can be. Over all very nice experience.

    Customer since January 2010

  • 5

    Great Experience

    I just got my first haircut at SolarHair and it was a fantastic experience. The cut is great and Heather was very knowledgeable! The salon was clean and a great atmosphere. I highly recommend SolarHair and I love the online booking feature!

    Customer since April 2011

  • 4

    a great job

    I had a good experience with my new hairstylist Heather R.; I love my hair color and cut! The atmosphere was good at the Salon and it is so convenient to make your appointments online.

    Customer since February 2011

  • 5

    Great!!

    It is hard to find someone that can do a good job of cutting guys hair, first time there and my hair was cut perfect!! Found my place!!! If your a guy in need of a hair cut, you gotta go here!!!

    Customer since February 2011

  • 5

    NEW PATRON

    VACATIONING FROM OUT OF TOWN FOUND THEIR AD IN LOCAL MAGAZINE AND MADE APPT OVER INTERNET.. TURNED OUT TO BE A GREAT EXPERIENCE AND MARSHA LISTENED TO MY WISHES AND MADE IT HAPPEN! I WILL BE BACK

    Customer since March 2010

Business Information

Hours Mon9:00am - 7:00pm
Tue9:00am - 8:00pm
Wed9:00am - 8:00pm
Thu9:00am - 8:00pm
Fri9:00am - 8:00pm
Sat9:00am - 3:00pm
Closed Happy Thanksgiving!
Nov 27, 2014 - Nov 28, 2014
  Merry Christmas!
Dec 25, 2014 - Dec 26, 2014
Phone (910) 791-8268
Location Get directions
Website www.solarhairsalon.com