Genbook verified user seal

These reviews are from verified customers of this business.

VERIFIED CUSTOMER REVIEWS
  • 5

    Definitely Reccomend

    Emily was an awesome tutor! This was my first time visiting--she was super sweet and friendly and gave me great feedback. I've recommended the WRC to my whole hall already!

    Customer since September 2016

  • 5

    Super helpful, friendly, respectful, insightful and experienced

    The section is super duper helpful. Chris is super insightful and grasped the gist of my paper so quick even though it was a total mess.

    Customer since September 2016

  • 5

    Amazing

    Really helped me to transform my essay into a detailed, specific argument instead of a rambling piece.

    Customer since September 2016

  • 5

    Best use of 30 minutes

    Sara was very helpful! I am so glad I made an appointment. Her effort was very much appreciated, and I felt empowered to continue the paper on the right course.

    Customer since May 2016

  • 5

    Luc was great!

    Luc was great! He really helped me out, even if he doesn't think he did, and I actually ended up passing my writing requirement! Give him a raise!

    Customer since October 2012

  • 5

    Extremely Helpfil

    I came in to organize my 9 page essay structure and my tutor, Jillian, was extremely helpful. She listened and helped me construct a better thesis and argument. 10/10 would recommend.

    Customer since April 2016

  • 5

    Helpful for Anyone and Everyone

    I'm a potential English major, and I consider myself to be a good writer. My experience at the writing resources center was helpful and insightful. No matter what the topic or subject matter of your writing, having someone at the center listen, encourage, and critique is beneficial, and absolutely produces a better end result.

    Customer since February 2016

  • 5

    Amazing Experience

    The tutor help me a lot. She was knowledgeable and really patience. I'm a ESL student and she help me so much with my tenses and past tenses. Love her! You guys rock! I wish I live close to stop by the center.

    Customer since January 2016

  • 5

    Thanks for writing center

    The instructors in writing center helped me to correct my paper critiques last semester and revise my resume and cover letter this semester. They are helpful and nice! Thanks for their great job!

    Customer since September 2015

  • 5

    So great, 10/10 recommend to a friend

    I had an awesome experience working with my consultant; I feel so much better about my work after visiting.

    Customer since January 2016

  • 5

    Helpful editor

    I did not bring my writing and I talked with the editor for a long time about how to write a good paper. She helped me a lot with this, shared me with a lot of experience she had. Would definitely go back!

    Customer since September 2015

  • 4

    Not too shabby

    My editor really helped me organize the ideas of my paper even though she knew little about the topic. Would definitely go back!

    Customer since November 2015

  • 5

    Awesome assistance

    I work on my thesis this semester. It is really helpful to explain my work to someone not in my research field to check the clarity of my writing. Since English is not my native language, Writing Resource Center gives me valuable suggestions about the grammars. I feel more confident of my writing after showing it to my consultants.

    Customer since September 2015

  • 5

    Awesome assistance for Grad Students

    I have not had to write long papers for a few years. The Writing Resource Center helped me review my paper and find even the small grammar details that were wrong. I was hesitant at first since I am a grad student, but it was a very helpful service.

    Customer since November 2015

  • 5

    Great Resource!

    The Writing Resource Center is a wonderful way to get a second point-of-view on an essay, regardless of whether you need pre-writing organization advice or a last-minute edit. I highly recommend.

    Customer since September 2015

  • 5

    Superb

    The Writing Resources Center is awesome! So helpful I go for almost every paper I write! All of the consultants I've had are helpful and knowledgable. I highly recommend

    Customer since September 2015

  • 5

    Quick 'n Easy

    My first interaction with the Writing Resource Center was nothing but amazing from start to finish. I was greeted and helped as soon as I walked in the door, and all of my accommodations was met. I was granted access to a computer and was never made to feel uncomfortable during my experience there. Sydney couldn't have been any better with assisting me. She helped me fine tune my project, and helped me learn simple rules to become a more effective writer. Overall, it was a great experience!

    Customer since November 2015

  • 5

    Wonderful Session!

    I had a sociology paper and I had a ton of data and research but no clue how to start outlining and the WRC helped me outline and helped me sort out my arguments and what I was trying to say. It was a great session that helped me a lot! This was my second or third time and I've always left feeling so great about my paper!

    Customer since September 2015

  • 5

    Writing center is helpful!

    I have been to WRC 3 times. Each time, my counselor helped me with my gramma mistakes and wired expressions. Now I have less errors in my paper critique. Thanks for my counselors' work!

    Customer since September 2015

  • 5

    WRC is very helpful for our international students

    I'm a Chinese student and this is my first year in US. In China, we won't always write in English and even if we do some English writing, others won't care much about the expression, grammar mistakes. Yesterday, I went to WRC to get help for my paper critique. My consultant is a kind person. He read my paper with me and helped to correct my errors. Beside this, he also taught me how to express clearly and briefly. Thanks him a lot!

    Customer since September 2015

  • 5

    Very Knowledgeable

    She helped organize my essay. She also provided additional information in order to help build my the content of my essay.

    Customer since September 2015

  • 5

    Big help for my first 1200words paper

    We were working on my first formal paper since college. We just sat down and reviewed my paper one paragraph by one paragraph. Thanks for the helper's advice, I improved several parts of the paper to make it more formal. And after the meeting, I knew the exact uses of Purdue OWL and Google Scholar.

    Customer since September 2015

  • 5

    Helped solidify my thesis

    I basically sat with the helper and talked about what interested me in my class readings and what I thought I could write a 7 page analytical paper about. She helped, by advice and asking questions, to really solidify in my mind what I wanted to say and helped me form my thesis statement. Additionally she was also a psychology major and was able to recommend a few books to help with my research.

    Customer since September 2015

  • 4

    The place to make your idea clear

    I could make my ideas clear. Also about what I should work on got clear too. The best thing was I learned how older students read and write. I was happy to get many resources to use when writing paper.

    Customer since September 2015

  • 5

    Great place to get started

    After being entirely overwhelmed by the topic of my first essay for my freshman seminar, Bernadette at the Writing Resources Center helped me pare down the tons of information I had access to into an essay with a coherent flow. It is a great place to get started, and I definitely will be making more use of the services that the Writing Resources Center offers as the year connives.

    Customer since September 2015

  • 5

    Communities Studies Self Reflection Paper

    The writing resources center is very helpful. I got help in clarifying my homework and developing my thesis sentences as well as correcting my grammar. I would definitely go again in the future.

    Customer since September 2015

  • 5

    Autobiographical Sketch Rough Draft

    My tutor was really helpful with making mild suggestions to cut out unnecessary phrases and convey my message more powerfully. I feel like my rough draft has really evolved.

    Customer since September 2015

  • 5

    English Term Paper

    I got a lot of help with the organization of my paper. My tutor also helped me cut back on the length. Definitely a service I will use again.

    Customer since September 2013

  • 5

    philosophy help

    My visit went quite well. The consultant helped me better understand the complex prompt for my final paper, while also helping me formulate my off the wall ideas into a concise thesis. I will be coming back soon. :)

    Customer since April 2015

  • 5

    Writing Resource Center Experience

    This was a great experience, and let me really comprehend what helps me review my own writing and what need to work on personally. The person helping me was very constructive and let me take the wheel in my own editing process, but put me on the right course and gave additional comments whenever they were needed.

    Customer since April 2015

  • 5

    very helpful

    The young woman who helped me was wonderful! She worked with me through the entire paper and we reviewed everything from phrasing to structure!

    Customer since December 2014

  • 5

    Really Helpful!

    The WRC worked with me on reviewing my thesis even while I was away from the physical College grounds through Skype! Highly recommended!

    Customer since October 2011

  • 5

    Great Experience

    Using the Writing Resource Center is extremely helpful to me every time I go! I'm very pleased with their workers.

    Customer since October 2014

  • 5

    The writing center is for graduate students too

    The writing center and the students working there are extremely helpful, respectful, and resourceful. They may not know much about the subject matter but will help you collect your thoughts. I will definitely be going back!

    Customer since March 2015

  • 5

    The writing center is extremely helpful

    The writing center is very helpful in organizing, reviewing and editing a paper! The staff is competent and very nice. And they are always upbeat and happy!

    Customer since February 2015

  • 5

    Great service

    This was my first time at the WRC and I met with Katherine, who was phenomenal! She was able to pick up on small things that made my paper better. I'll definitely recommend the WRC's services to my friends and look forward to coming back for future consultations. In sum, highly recommended.

    Customer since February 2015

  • 5

    Great WRC Experience

    My recent consultation was extremely helpful, I was paired with an excellent instructor and would recommend for all students to go to the WRC. This helped me get my paper past the initial planning stages and now I am ready to research and write more.

    Customer since February 2015

  • 5

    Helpful Editing for a Stubborn Student

    I often hate it when people look over my writing, as I am stubborn as a mule and don't like taking other people's edits. But the WRC staff is phenomenal and helped me restructure parts of my research paper without making me feel like my ownership of my words was being stripped. 10/10 would recommend ;)

    Customer since December 2014

  • 5

    Awesome and enthusiastic help

    I was wary of the WC being a freshman who has never really needed help on writing before...but I decided to give it a go just because I felt a fresh perspective might help. My consultant was extremely energetic and helped me view many different courses of action. I really didn't know how much I was missing, and I feel much more confident and less overwhelmed now!

    Customer since November 2014

  • 5

    Great experience and definitely worth it!

    I was hesitant to go at first, but I'm really glad I decided to. The advisor helped me with being aware of the common mistakes I make while writing, with writing structure structure, and gave great advice about flow. I highly recommend it!

    Customer since November 2014

  • 5

    Consistent Advice

    This center has helped me improve my writing on multiple occasions! I usually need help with structure and thesis, and the advisors there have good advice. I've had a few good conversations there about my writing.

    Customer since September 2013

  • 5

    Very Helpful!

    The Writing Resources Center is a great place! My advisor targeted specifically on what I'm concerned about and helped me a lot about citation. Simply awesome! Thanks!

    Customer since November 2014

  • 5

    So Helpful!

    The Writing Center really helped me revise my paper and make it into a more concise, coherent piece of writing. I recommend that everyone use this resource whenever they get the chance!

    Customer since October 2014

  • 5

    Absolutely Go!

    The Writing Center was so helpful in refining what I thought was my final version of an essay. Everything that I had questions or concerns about were addressed. I felt far more confident handing my paper in knowing improvements had been made. I highly recommend going to the Writing Center for any paper you have to write. Definitely worth going!

    Customer since October 2014

  • 5

    general essay help

    Unfortunately I did not have a proper draft to go through, Georgie definitely helped me refine my outline and how to go about with the essay

    Customer since September 2014

  • 5

    awesome!

    My essay had so many grammatical mistakes, and Jillian helped me fix them all. Now, I feel confident about turning my paper in.

    Customer since September 2014

  • 4

    So helpful!

    I went with half a paper and left with it correctly referenced and the rest completely planned. I will definitely be back again!

    Customer since September 2014

  • 5

    Final Draft

    This was my first time getting help from the Writing Resource Center and I found it extremely helpful. They helped me clarify my thesis and reorganize the body of my essay so that my ideas were given the spotlight. I feel very confident about my first college essay thanks to them.

    Customer since September 2014

  • 5

    Pre-writing

    First time using the Writing Resource Center and it was great. They helped me organize my thoughts on my first college paper and went through my outline with me. I feel confident about my first paper in college thanks to the writing center. I feel like it's a resource everyone should take advantage of.

    Customer since September 2014

  • 5

    Great

    It was my first time there and the experience was great! We talked through the essay one paragraph at a time and suggestions were given about what I have or have not made clear based on another reader's perspective.

    Customer since September 2014

  • 5

    Perfect

    Akshay was a giant help because he taught me to notice my mistakes and what to look for when writing an essay. He also previously took the class I was writing for which is super helpful.

    Customer since September 2014

  • 5

    Very Helpful

    Claire was very helpful, especially in making sure that my evidence was explained and the explanations connected to my thesis. She was polite and friendly.

    Customer since September 2014

  • 5

    Very Helpful

    I needed help in the overall structure and outline of my paper, and she was very helpful in taking my ideas and helping me organize them.

    Customer since April 2014

  • 5

    Great Help

    She was very good, and helped with grammar, structural issues I was having. Also very kind. I highly recommend!

    Customer since December 2010

  • 5

    Paper help

    Alana was very good, and helped with my paper's organization, as well as with my conclusion. She was very helpful and it was a very productive hour!

    Customer since April 2013

  • 4

    Book Review Help

    Dana W was a very good help. she helped with a lot of grammatical errors which helped with my papers fluidity. more importantly though she showed me that my paper was disorganized and that I needed to organize it some more. She was sehr gut!

    Customer since February 2014

  • 5

    WRC

    Hugely appreciate the help from Corinne! She was so patient and help me to clarify my arguments and better integrate my examples! Much thanks :)

    Customer since February 2012

  • 5

    Years of Excellent Service

    The WRC has been an unparalleled resource for me over the last 3 years of my college career. I have met over ten different tutors and have been impressed by each one. I highly recommend this resource for almost any written project, whether it's an essay, a resume or cover letter!

    Customer since September 2010

  • 4

    Paper Help

    I have trouble getting thoughts together for papers, but a half-hour here was all it took for me to figure out what I really wanted to write about. I think I'm going to have to come back sometime.

    Customer since September 2013

  • 5

    Drea is the best!

    Drea was super helpful when it comes to editing my paper. In addition she is extremely nice! When I forgot to save my work, she offered to help me find it while I went to class. And she even contacted the IT Department for me! Thank you Drea!!

    Customer since September 2013

  • 5

    Awesome Akshay

    Akshay was incredibly helpful! He encouraged me to really assess what I was trying to say, and helping me to say it! He also was really nice and didn't make me feel ridiculous for not knowing some simple grammatical rules, like where to put a comma! I will definitely be coming back!

    Customer since February 2012

  • 5

    Personal Statement Help

    The WRC was great. I could see my statement improving as we sat there. Not only did the consultant help to fix my sentence structure and syntax, but she also gave me great ideas about what to add to strengthen the piece or make it longer if the need arose.

    Customer since November 2013

  • 5

    Freshman Seminar paper help

    I received a lot of help at the WRC that helped me fix my paper and how to write more concisely in the future. Reading my sentences aloud and then breaking them down also helped me learn how to review papers on my own further and was very resourceful.

    Customer since October 2013

  • 5

    Very Useful

    Even as a Drop-In with a shorter session time, in our consultation Sarah helped me smooth out the flow of my paper as well as make my sentence structure more succinct. I definitely recommend using the WRC.

    Customer since October 2013

  • 5

    Very Helpful!!

    Alana helped me go over all my ideas and organize them very properly into several paragraph. She is so great, and I have had a very good time in WRC. I will definitely go there again. It is so helpful!

    Customer since September 2013

  • 5

    great help!

    I got helped not only in the assignment, but also how to do it. I recommend anyone to take their writing to the WRC.

    Customer since September 2013

  • 5

    AMAZING!

    I benefitted a lot by visiting the Writing Resources Center. I left feeling good about my paper, but also had a direction to take it in as I continued the editing process. Definitely recommend the WRC to anyone writing ANYTHING. Very helpful.

    Customer since September 2013

  • 5

    SO helpful

    Highly recommend students going here- I did not know what to expect, but Sarah helped me so much with my paper. Thank you!

    Customer since September 2013

  • 5

    SUPER HELPFUL

    It was my first visit. People there are very patient and nice. Improved my paper much. Go there if you have any problem!

    Customer since September 2013

  • 4

    Good Advice

    Good experience with the WRC. Grammar feedback was good, but some of my questions weren't fully answered.

    Customer since September 2013

  • 5

    Fantastic Resource

    The Writing Resource Center has been an amazing resource in helping me to develop critical writing and analytical skills. I will go there for every paper. Thank you.

    Customer since September 2013

  • 4

    good job

    I am speechless. instead I will write down how marvelous the resource center has become since I came here as a freshwoman. I know I can count on them to be critical yet classy when they give me positive feedback. keep being wonderful.

    Customer since September 2012

  • 5

    Great Service!

    It was my first time at the WRC, and Jillian was the best! She really helped me think my paper through.

    Customer since September 2013

  • 5

    Great personalized help!

    I went to the WRC for the first time yesterday. Ashleigh was very nice and helpful! It made me feel better about my paper.

    Customer since April 2013

  • 1

    worst experience ever. So rude!

    I told Clair( not sure about the spellig) that I need her help with my grammar. She told me no. She also asked me to leave after 30 minutes. SO RUDE! I still had 7 pages left back then. She didn't even ask for my permission; she just TOLD me to leave.

    Customer since April 2013

  • 5

    lots appreciate

    My writing skill has been proved a lot with writing center. I got lots of encouragement and nice advice from excellent consultants. thank you you all. ❤

    Customer since April 2013

  • 5

    Wonderful Experience!

    Yesterday was my first visit to WRC. Being a senior, one would figure that I would have already used them. I had a wonderful experience with my consultant.

    Customer since April 2013

  • 5

    Hope in myself was restored! (All thanks to WRC)

    I was nervous about going because I knew that my paper had some rough spots. But they helped me make it awesome all by using my own words! I was so surprised when I was talking to my tutor that after I finished explaining something he would point to something he scribed and would say, you said that, so use it! It was amazing and I am so grateful.

    Customer since April 2013

  • 5

    Surprised and pleased

    I was loathe to go to WRC but had to go because I was having a hard time formulating a concise thesis, which led my last paper to be a dud. I was shocked how effective and helpful it was. The person who helped me, Dana W was fantastic...I highly recommend this for anyone who is looking to improve their writing.

    Customer since March 2013

  • 5

    Excellence!!!

    I am a repeat visitor at WRC. Each time I review a paper with an adviser, I learn something that I can incorporate into future papers. What amazes me is that they are "just" students and they are more competent than some of the teachers I've had prior to W&M. Keep up the good work! And thanks for all the help!

    Customer since September 2012

  • 5

    WRC

    This was such a great experience. My adviser really was such a great help, and I feel a million times more confident in my essay. She also helped me in grammar mechanics and in clarifying my argument. I would recommend going at least once to the WRC!

    Customer since March 2013

  • 4

    WRC

    They were great. Realy helped me improve my paper! Anna was extremely helpful while not condescending.

    Customer since March 2012

  • 5

    Writing Center

    This was such a wonderful experience! I have not written an English paper since my freshman year so I was a bit out of practice. The girl who helped me was incredibly helpful! I can't that the writing center enough! I will definitely be coming back for other papers I have!

    Customer since February 2013

  • 4

    I got a starting point

    I haven't actually had to write a full essay in almost a year so I was little unsure of how I should start. I go to the WRC with a few notes and an inkling of an idea and the paper kind of congeals in my head.

    Customer since February 2013

  • 5

    Helpful, as always

    I always have to remind myself how great the WRC is. Sometimes I have papers due very soon that I have fallen behind on, and yet the WRC always manages to get me to a much better place. Thanks a ton!

    Customer since September 2009

  • 5

    First visit

    I utilized the writing center for the first time and it was great! It helped me to painlessly edit my final draft of a paper. I found all of the edits to be useful.

    Customer since December 2012

  • 5

    Fantastic!

    This was my first time, and I found it immensely helpful. My consultant was very sweet and insightful, and my paper is much better for the visit. Thanks so much! :)

    Customer since October 2012

  • 5

    Very Helpful

    This was my first time at the Writing Resource center, and I wish I had come earlier in my time here! My consultant was very helpful and helped me narrow down my topic and organize my thoughts. I would definitely recommend their help for difficult papers.

    Customer since November 2012

  • 5

    VERY HELPFUL

    It was my first time to get help from WRC. It was really helpful. She helped me go over the paper and reorganize the ideas and structure. Also she asked lots of questions that made me think in different ways and various directions. Definitely recommend it if you have difficulty writing a paper.

    Customer since November 2012

  • 5

    strongly recommend!

    This is my very first time to write a paper and the Writing Resuorce Center really helps alot! I strongly recommend everyone to explore this resouce!

    Customer since November 2012

  • 5

    EXCELLENT!

    I am a regular visitor at WRC, not because I'm a bad writer but because they show me how to make my papers better. I learn something new each time, so I highly recommend this resource. Just don't walk in at the last minute! Make appointments online to be sure of a spot.

    Customer since September 2012

  • 5

    5 stars!

    I have been to the writing resource center twice and both times were extremely helpful. My consultants helped me form clear and concise theses as well as focusing my argument. It was a good use of my time and I will definitely come if I need more help!

    Customer since September 2012

  • 5

    Writing Resource Center Review

    I came to the Writing Resource Center to review a response paper for my Freshman Seminar. Katie, my WRC correspondent, was extremely nice and helpful! With her insight, I was able to make my essay flow better. I will definitely use the WRC again.

    Customer since September 2012

  • 5

    It is really helpful

    I find the consultation helpful. Consultants help me clear up my mind and organize my essay. They really know how to help me write better!

    Customer since September 2012

  • 5

    A great resource

    As the former manager of a high school writing center, I was very impressed with the WRC's quality! I'm definitely eager to go back for more assistance.

    Customer since September 2012

  • 5

    Just Do It.

    I benefitted greatly form my appointment. They helped my clarify and reorganize my paper. With their help, I was able to strengthen my points while remaining true to my own writing style. I'm really glad I went, and I will likely be going again! Go to the Writing Center. Just do it.

    Customer since April 2012

  • 5

    Great Experience!

    They were really helpful, providing constructive feedback on the areas of my paper that were the weakest. Great at listening to suggestions and very, very friendly. I'll definitely be going again!

    Customer since March 2012

  • 5

    Great Advice!

    This center is quite helpful to make my written document more professional and persuasive to readers. His advice was to the point and easy to understand.

    Customer since September 2011

  • 5

    very helpful

    My appointment with the writing resource center was very helpful in putting the final touches on my paper. It was greatly appreciated. I will likely return to use this resource in other stages of the writing process.

    Customer since February 2012

  • 5

    First Time Writing Resource Center

    The Writing Resource Center was really helpful and encouraging. It was my first time to visit and my essay definitely benefitted from the session. Reading aloud was very helpful.

    Customer since November 2011

  • 5

    perfect!

    Logan was wonderful! Exactly the help in what I needed. Could not recommend any better resource for either a freshman, sophomore, junior, or senior! Honestly the best help for anyone needing help with understanding, outline, thesis, grammar, or anything else you could possibly imagine.

    Customer since September 2009

  • 4

    Very Helpful!

    I appreciate the honesty of the consultant when it came to the writing. It really made the paper stronger! She was also encouraging, which made things better too. However, she was 10 minutes late to the appointment.

    Customer since November 2011

  • 5

    discovered this jewel in my last semester

    I can't believe I waited until my last semester of college to go here! Sooo helpful. Made me feel much better about my paper and gave me a clear direction to go in. :)

    Customer since November 2011

  • 5

    Writing Resources Center

    Nice to have assuming you can get an appointment, which you'd want to do well in advance of the deadline of the paper you wished to submit. Found the center to be helpful in revising a paper, which is all I'm qualified to say about it.

    Customer since October 2011

  • 5

    Sympathetic People

    I was given a really tough assignment, but the Writing Resource Center was full of students like myself who were sympathetic to my plight. They made me feel comfortable and competent. I will go back for future assignments.

    Customer since October 2011

  • 5

    Very Helpful

    I went to the writing center in need of guidance while conjuring up a thesis statement. The instructor and I talked through what I found interesting in the story I was writing on and what I felt I could make a paper out of. The instructor didn't just say "Here you should write about this", but more so we talked about all the things I could write about and I left with a a few solid ideas that I developed in full on my own.

    Customer since October 2011

  • 5

    Helpful

    My instructor is nice and helpful. She is not impatient with the poor English of an international student. All of our intl kids should ask help for the writing center!!

    Customer since September 2011

  • 5

    Amazing!!

    I had an amazing experience. The instruction was so helpful on small and large issues in my paper. Will be sure and come back. I am telling all my friends about it!

    Customer since September 2011

  • 5

    Amazing

    Wow! The volunteers at the Writing Resource Center are so encouraging and helpful. They are open to any questions you may have in any part of the writing process, and they are awesome at helping you focus your thoughts and communicate your ideas effectively. I will definitely be back!

    Customer since September 2011

  • 5

    Wonderful resource!

    I was able to receive help developing my ideas clearly and I also received help with proper grammar. I used the skype consultation because I live off campus and found it beneficial. I will be using this resource for every paper!

    Customer since September 2011

  • 5

    Very Helpful

    From helping you develop a thesis, to going over your rough draft, this is an invaluable resource to anyone that is not quite sure of their writing ability. The volunteers are extremely helpful and very nice as well. I highly recommend making an appointment if you're interested in putting a little extra time into creating a really high quality paper.

    Customer since September 2011

  • 5

    Well Worth Your Time

    I highly recommend scheduling an appointment with the WRC, even if you think your paper is pretty rock-solid. My consultant was very personable and helped me iron out some minor phrasing nuances. Also, my consultant (conveniently well-versed in logic and philosophy) assured me that my paper was thorough and logical. I left feeling comfortable with my paper and the changes we made

    Customer since September 2011

  • 4

    A Great Experience!

    My consultation was thorough and informative -- my consultant helped me shape my argument and identify points in my paper upon which I could elaborate more. I came away with a better understanding of what to do to improve my writing, and will definitely be coming back for another meeting.

    Customer since September 2011

  • 5

    Such a pleasure to have the Writing Resources Center come to my home?

    Using technology in order to have the Writing Resources Center come to my place instead of my going there has made my experience with writing more enjoyable than it has ever been before. Even more interesting is the fact that the tutors are available at times where I actually sit to write, that is after business hours. Also, I think the tutors' excellent interpersonal skills are at the essence of my getting to enjoy the experience. I can say nothing but thank you so much WRC!

    Customer since August 2011

  • 5

    Really helped

    My first visit there went really well. My consultant helped me figure out how I wanted to write and organize my paper. I will definitely be going there again!

    Customer since September 2011

  • 5

    Great

    It was my first time going to the WRC and I am really glad that I took the time to go.They were very helpful. It was really nice to get to have someone look over you paper and help you improve it. The best part is its free!

    Customer since September 2011

  • 5

    Awesome

    I went to the WRC for help with my first college essay, and it was so helpful. They helped me take my writing up to a college level and work through what I needed to improve in the long run and how to do it.

    Customer since September 2011

  • 4

    Above and Beyond

    I was a little uncertain about going to the WRC for creative matters, but the representative certainly blew me away. Not only did he point out what I needed for the short term, but he also gave me many good ideas on how to make a sound base for future novels. Overall a fantastic visit!

    Customer since July 2011

  • 5

    World Class Resource at the College

    I came to the Writing Resources Center with a decent essay. I left with an outstanding one. The WRC consultant I met with was patient, communicated clearly and had invaluable insight. From the moment we sat down his commitment to me and my essay was obvious. Thank you!

    Customer since July 2011

  • 4

    Outline Wiz

    Usually when i start papers i go head first. When i do that i miss the key facts i need to include. My first visit at the WRC really boosted my confidence on the material i have and helped me outline it to be clear and concise.

    Customer since April 2011

  • 5

    Clarification Station

    Whenever I write a paper, I'm always a little uncertain about its clarity. I love the WRC because the consultants help me clarify any parts of my paper that aren't straightforward. Getting another perspective on my writing is refreshing and really helps me strengthen my argument!

    Customer since September 2010

  • 5

    Confidence Builder

    I've always thought that I was a decent writer, but coming to William & Mary as a freshman definitely changed the positive feelings I had about my writing skills. From just one session at the WRC, I feel so much more confident writing papers and getting my points across in them. I will certainly be coming back to the WRC in the near future!

    Customer since November 2010

  • 5

    Boosted My Paper

    My paper was decent but needed some kick. My consultant gave me great ideas for a conclusion and helped me develop a great intro. It will be my new tradition to go to the WRC after finishing a rough draft. Thanks so much!

    Customer since November 2010

  • 5

    Thank you!

    Very helpful in working out a paper with a vague assignment! I'll watch How I Met Your Mother this weekend I guess. Good to have another person to bounce ideas around with and come up with a plan. Thanks again!

    Customer since November 2010

  • 1

    bad experience

    I was very disappointed The student didn't know how to cite and I lost one hour with her looking at a blank screen. I thought she could help but it turn out to be the worse experience.

    Customer since November 2010

  • 4

    Helpful

    I can't believe, as a senior, I just found the WRC. My visit was very helpful and I felt more confident turning in my assignment. The only thing I'd like more would be to be able to sign up for a consultant that has a background in a specific area (ex: History, Science).

    Customer since November 2010

  • 5

    Great experience!

    I am in the process of applying to doctoral programs and needed help with my personal statement. My consultant was extremely helpful -- very patient and very attentive. I really like that the process was collaborative and constructive. I even learned some new writing tricks! Thanks again!

    Customer since March 2010

  • 5

    awesome

    She was very helpful in helping in my thesis and rest of the paper. She was very patient and tried to understand exactly what my paper was about in order to help me articulate exactly how I needed to say it

    Customer since November 2010

  • 5

    Too good to be true

    The WRC is truly the best hidden resource on campus. I brought in my midterm for a class, and my editor was extremely helpful. You can go over anything regarding your paper, such as how to organize it better, to clarify your topics, help with citations, etc... No matter what your paper is about, the staff at the WRC work with you directly to find out how to improve your paper in whatever it may be lacking. Truly, if you ever have questions/concerns about your paper, the WRC is there for you!

    Customer since October 2010

  • 5

    Great

    Ani-Rae was incredibly helpful. Totally put me at ease and offered great advice. She is a natural helper. She helped me narrow and clarify my topic while reviewing my outline.

    Customer since October 2008

  • 5

    friendly and encouraging

    I was really nervous about writing papers for college, so when I heard we had a Writing Resources Center, I was really excited. I've had three appointments now and each one has helped so much! The people working there are friendly and encouraging. They are very good at helping you at any stage in your assignment, too, whether it be editing your final draft or helping you figure out where to start. I will definitely be using the Center throughout my college experience.

    Customer since September 2010

  • 4

    Great resource for all students

    I highly recommend using this resource. It's very difficult to calm me when I'm stressed and I have trouble focusing. My resource assistant was helpful with focusing my first visit and suggested that I make several dates to follow up with my challenging assignment. I'm a little less overwhelmed knowing that help is available and I appreciated her patience.

    Customer since September 2010

  • 4

    What an Improvement!

    I took a paper in to the WRC that I needed to be edited. It helped so much! They were so nice and helpful and really showed me what my problems with writing were, as well as specific improvements to the paper. The only reason I docked off one star was because I was a little confused as to where to check in, but now that I know I will absolutely go back!

    Customer since September 2010

  • 4

    Great First Experience

    My freshman seminar professor assigned a 15 page research paper. My first thought: Where the heck do I begin? During Orientation, I'd heard about the Writing Resources Center over and over again, so I figured I should start there. The student helping me was welcoming, knowledgeable, and cheerful. She introduced me to the Reference Desk where I found more sources than I know what to do with! Overall, a great experience.

    Customer since September 2010

  • 5

    Yo put some cheese one dat!

    The Writing Resources Center is ridiculously awesome. Not only did they help me better my writing but they also were just cool people. They were clear and helpful and the girl helping me was incredibly pretty, but that was just a plus. They did a good job of helping move past my petersburg slang and conversational writing style and to adopt a more formal and academic flair. Thank you WRC you really put some cheese on that. PS- if you ever go to Bojangles ask for cheese on everything, its good!

    Customer since April 2010

  • 5

    BEST EDITING EXPERIENCE!

    I have never been pointed out so much of my common mistakes in such a clear and helpful manner. I was able to edit my own paper later on more efficiently than ever before. Thank you SOOO much WRC!

    Customer since April 2010

  • 5

    Great Help!!

    I have has so much on my plate the last couple of weeks and this paper was very hard to grasp and organize. Kristen was a GREAT help and even tried to rebook but nothing fit my hectic "Co-Enroll" schedule for the upcoming week! I will be back for my last paper this semester! Thank you guys so much! As a Spanish tutor I know the satisfaction in helping your peers! Awesome!!

    Customer since April 2010

  • 5

    Wonderful Help!

    As someone who considers himself a pretty good writer, I'm maybe not an obvious candidate for using the Writing Resource Center, but I got a lot of great advice and improved my writing. It can NEVER hurt to go to the WRC!

    Customer since March 2010

  • 5

    Definitely Helpful

    I brought each of my papers to WRC, and I learnt so much each time. The consultants were really helpful and really nice, and my papers were improved so much after their help. I always keep their advices in mind and happily found myself improved a lot after one semester. This is all because of WRC!! :)

    Customer since September 2009

  • 5

    LOVED IT!

    I had no idea what to expect, but the WRC was incredibly helpful. Both tutors were very kind but remained objective, and critically analyzed my paper. Their input was very insightful and they helped me to improve my paper in ways I would never have thought of alone.

    Customer since March 2010

  • 5

    Jasmine Curry

    As usual the WRC was great and extremely helpful. The tutors are very knowledgeable and very good at explaining things and giving useful advice and tips on improving your skills. I recommend the WRC to anyone regardless of how well you write !!!!1

    Customer since March 2009

  • 5

    ALWAYS Helpful

    I've been going to the WRC for every paper since my freshman year. Every time I go, I've not only had a positive experience, but I've grown as a writer. With their help, I've become more organized, succinct, and thoughtful in my writing. In addition, for every paper, I email my professor my potential thesis and then go to the WRC once the paper is written for help. As a reuslt, I've never received below a B+ on a paper! Thanks WRC :)

    Customer since November 2008

  • 5

    Welcoming & Helpful

    I really wasn't sure what to expect when I first scheduled my appointment for the Writing Resouces Center. They were fantastic! They helped me to take a step back and look at my paper from a more removed perspective, which helped me to achieve a stronger thesis and argument as well as a more cohesive structure and flow. Not to mention, I can apply the techniques and concepts we used to future papers.

    Customer since October 2009

  • 5

    Great for Freshmen!!

    I was stressed while writing my first college paper, but thanks to the wonderful review and pointers I got during my appointment (walk in), I am actually excited about turning this paper in! I'm hoping for a good grade, but even if its not, the writing center was already a great help! Thank You.

    Customer since September 2009

  • 5

    Law School Personal Statement

    I came in to have my personal statement for law school reviewed, which wasn't something that the people at the WRC normally do. However, after briefly explaining some of the things that are normally included in the statement, she was quickly and easily able to grasp my task. My essay was already solid, but she was able to make meaningful smallsuggestions, enough to take my essay to the next level. Just what I was looking for.

    Customer since September 2009

  • 5

    Writing Center is Da Bomb

    This is my second time at the WRC and both times were extremely helpful. My visit helped me to better express my ideas and clear up confusing sentences. If you can find the time to make an appointment I definitely recommend it.

    Customer since September 2009

  • 5

    It helps a lot!

    My friend recommended me the writing resources center, and it is awesome. As an international students, I have some problems with gramma and wording, especially past tenses. The girl there helped me go through my paper. Through "read it aloud", I found some mistakes; and she pointed the others in a soft tone and explained clearly to me. Thanks!

    Customer since September 2009

  • 5

    A Big Help!

    This is my first time coming to Writing Resources Center, and it's a wonderful experience. I feel more sure and more confident after having the consultant look through my paper. Thanks a lot!

    Customer since September 2009

  • 5

    Fast, easy, and enjoyable.

    They provide really helpful and reassuring meetings. I personally need to set deadlines for myself so I won't end up writing my paper the night before. This allows me to evenly schedule draft completion dates. They help you substantially improve your paper through the flow, cohesion, and structure.

    Customer since September 2009

  • 5

    The Best Resouce Ever...

    ...If you know you have to do a paper. The staff are honest, flexible, and easygoing. While they are there to offer advice, they allow you to make your own decisions. After all, it's your paper, they're just simply the first people to read it.

    Customer since April 2009

  • 5

    Don't Miss Out

    A WRC visit is really beneficial no matter where you are in the writing process- from idea gathering to the first draft to the final draft. They will help you whether the paper is finished or not. You choose the focus, so it can be from thesis development to nit-picky grammatical issues. I try to go in to the WRC for every single paper, and I never regret the time! Thanks WRC!

    Customer since March 2009

  • 5

    Worth the Visit!

    The Writing Resources Center provided valuable assistance towards a very rigorous writing assignment of mine. The staff and volunteers were kind, eager and knowledgable; making the experience stress free. And most importantly, I learned better writing skills!

    Customer since December 2008

  • 5

    Very Helpful

    The writing center is very helpful. The individuals who work there are very nice and they are willing to help you with any type of paper. They are willing to spend the extra time to help proofread and revise your paper. Go to the writing center, it helps in the end.

    Customer since December 2008

  • 5

    Great Resource

    The writing resource center is really helpful for any writing assignment. There are very knowledgeable students there to help you with any aspect of writing, whether it be helping you proofread a final copy of a paper, cleaning up grammar mistakes, or just telling you what parts of your paper sound confusing. Definitely take advantage of this great resource.

    Customer since November 2008

  • 5

    last minute

    Help when requested. The writing resource center is invaluable resource that everyone should take advantage of at least once during your tenure at this college. They can do help with you might think of as the silliest things. They truly make a difference on this campus.

    Customer since November 2008

Business Information

Hours Mon1:00pm - 10:00pm
Tue1:00pm - 10:00pm
Wed1:00pm - 10:00pm
Thu1:00pm - 10:00pm
Fri1:00pm - 4:00pm
Sun7:00pm - 10:00pm
Closed Fall Break
Oct 8, 2016 - Oct 11, 2016
  Thanksgiving Break
Nov 23, 2016 - Nov 28, 2016
  Winter Break
Dec 3, 2016 - Jan 30, 2017
Phone (757) 221-3925
Location Get directions
Website www.wm.edu/wrc